Rona Wang Wins 2020 Dell Magazines Award

The winner of the 2020 Dell Magazines Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing was announced on February 10.

Winner: Rona Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for “Imitation Game”

First Runner-up: Cyrus Lloyd, Vanderbilt University, for “The Death of F209-5”

Second Runner-up: (Tie)

  • Kaley Mamo, Columbia University, for “The Bendix Diner”
  • Wenmimareba Klobah Collins of University of Puerto Rico – Rio Piedras Campus, for “Journey from Middle to Nowhere”

Third Runner-up: Grace Yang, Indiana University-Bloomington, for “Dragon Fall”

Honorable Mentions

  • Claire Spaulding, Columbia University, for “Halfsies”
  • Alexandra Rose Nagele, University of Pennsylvania, for “Cell Culture”
  • Moe Kirkpatrick, University of British Columbia, for “Ode to Andromeda”
  • C.E. McGill, North Carolina State University, for “Things to Bring, Things to Burn, Things Best Left Behind”
  • M.C. Chau, Brown University, for “The Last Deer in Heaven”

The $500 award goes to the best unpublished and unsold science fiction or fantasy short story submitted by a full-time undergraduate college student. The winner is invited to the IAFA annual Conference on the Fantastic, and the winning story published in print or online by Asimov’s Science Fiction. (The Dell Award was formerly known as the Isaac Asimov Award.)

The award was started in 1992 by Asimov’s Science Fiction magazine editor Sheila Williams and science fiction writer and journalism professor Rick Wilber who are the co-judges.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

2 thoughts on “Rona Wang Wins 2020 Dell Magazines Award

  1. First Runner-up: Cyrus Lloyd, Vanderbilt University, for “The Death of F209-5”

    Woo-hooo, Vanderbilt!


  2. Pingback: IAFA 2020 Award Winners | File 770

Comments are closed.