Second Annual Brave New Weird Winners

It’s an award, says Brave New Weird anthology editor Alex Woodroe, avoiding any “Is it a breath mint? No, it’s a candy mint!” arguments. Tenebrous Press announced the winners of the second annual Brave New Weird Award on April 9, chosen from over a thousand submissions. They constitute the table of contents of Brave New Weird: The Best New Weird Horror vo. 2 which will be shipped in June.


  • Amitha Jagannath Knight – My Mother, The Exoskeleton
  • Anemone Moss – Everything You Dump Here Ends Up in the Ocean
  • Chris Kuriata – Family Not Going To Heaven
  • Daniel DeRock – Guest Opinion: We must take action regarding the [REDACTED] High School janitor
  • David Simmons – Food is Poison
  • Eirik Gumeny – A Balanced Breakfast
  • Elena Sichrovsky – Embryo
  • Geneve Flynn – A Box of Hair and Nail
  • Hussani Abdulrahim – The Library Virus
  • Ivan Zoric – Our Roots Will Dry Out in the End
  • Judith Shadford – Endless Yearning
  • Karlo Yeager Rodríguez – Up In the Hills, She Dreams of Her Daughter Deep In the Ground
  • KS Walker – River Bargain Baby
  • LC von Hessen – Transmasc of the Red Death
  • M.M. Olivas – The Prince of Oakland
  • Michael Bettendorf – As the Music Plays Groovy
  • Nelly Geraldine García-Rosas – Lullaby for the Unseen
  • Patrick Malka – Show Me
  • Perfect Kiss Strickoll – punctum (o baked alaska for you i am a former american)
  • Premee Mohamed – Quietus
  • Rachael K. Jones – The Sound of Children Screaming
  • Simone le Roux – The Man Outside
  • Thomas Ha – In That Crumbling Home

In addition to the Table of Contents, Brave New Weird has also honored a few notable individuals for their contributions to the New Weird spectrum:


And what is New Weird Horror? Tenebrous Press says:

We define New Weird Horror as a Horror subgenre focused on progress, creatively capturing themes and questions that bleed into fiction straight from the modern reader’s life and future. It acts as a challenge to break new ground in terms of form and content and to engage with the unknown. Beyond that, New Weird Horror will be defined by the winning pieces themselves.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.