Subjective Chaos Kind of Awards 2024 Shortlist

The judging panel’s nominees for the Subjective Chaos Kind of Awards 2024 have been announced. 


  • Vajra Chandrasekera, The Saint Of Bright Doors (Tor / St Martin’s Press)
  • Salman Rushdie, Victory City (Jonathan Cape)
  • Moniquill Blackgoose, To Shape A Dragon’s Breath (Del Rey)
  • Shelley Parker-Chan, He Who Drowned The World (Pan Macmillan)
  • Tashan Mehta, Mad Sisters Of Esi (HarperCollins India)


  • Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Chaingang All-Stars (Pantheon / Harvill Secker)
  • Naomi Alderman, The Future (Fourth Estate)
  • Lavanya Lakshminarayan, The Ten Percent Thief (Solaris Books)
  • C Pam Zhang, The Land Of Milk And Honey (Hutchinson Heinemann / Riverhead Books)
  • Samit Basu, The Jinn-Bot Of Shantiport (Tordotcom)
  • Lauren Beukes, Bridge (Mulholland Books)


  • E G Condé, Sordidez (Stelliform Press)
  • Dere Segun Falowo, Caged Ocean Dub (Android Press)
  • Isabel Waidner, Corey Fah Does Social Mobility (Penguin Books)
  • Anya Johanna DeNiro, OKPsyche (Small Beer Press)


  • Andrew Knighton, Ashes Of The Ancestors (Luna Press)
  • Xian Mao, Apollo Weeps (Aqueduct Press)
  • Em X Liu, If Found Return To Hell (Solaris Books)
  • Indra Das, The Last Dragoners Of Bowbazar (Subterranean Press)
  • Iori Kusano, Hybrid Heart (Neon Hemlock)
  • E Saxey, On The English Approach To The Study Of History (Giganotosaurus)


  • Jeannette Ng, The Girl With A City Inside Of Her (Uncanny Magazine)
  • Kristina Ten, Approved Methods Of Love Divination In The First-Rate City Of Dushagorod (Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine)
  • Tara Campbell, Welcome To Your Lifting (in Adventures In Bodily Autonomy, Aqueduct Press)
  • Eugenia Triantafyllou, Always Be Returning (The Sunday Morning Transport)

The book critics responsible for these honors are:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.