DisCon III Opens Online 2021 Hugo Voting

DisCon III announced today that online voting for the 2021 Hugo Awards has opened. Members of the 2021 Worldcon are eligible to choose the winners of the Hugo Awards, the Astounding Award for Best New Writer, and the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book.

Members are receiving an email explaining how to vote online. Members also have the option of using a paper ballot.

The deadline for voting is November 19, 2021, 23:59 Pacific (which is November 20th at 02:59 Eastern, 07:59 Greenwich Mean Time, and 20:59 New Zealand Daylight Time).

Voters can make additions or changes to their online ballots as often as they like until the deadline. A copy of their current ballot will be emailed to them thirty minutes after they finish modifying it.

TRACK RECORD. Forty-four days lapsed between DisCon III’s Hugo finalist announcement and the opening of online voting. That’s faster than last year’s Worldcon managed to do it, but less quickly than the 2015-2019 Worldcons (see JJ’s chart Waiting For Online Hugo Voting And The 2021 Voter Packet.)

And while you’re waiting for the Hugo Voter Packet, here’s a list of links to read the 2021 Hugo Finalists which are available for free online.

7 thoughts on “DisCon III Opens Online 2021 Hugo Voting

  1. And now, we all wait for the Hugo Packet….

    (Yes, I know it’s a lot of hard work to assemble, and it takes time. I fully respect that. But I wants it, my precioussss, I wantsss it….)

  2. First, extremely rough, voting pass done. I expect to go back and revise multiple times between now and November.

  3. Ah, Spring, when the smell of the Hugos is in the air and a middle-aged fan’s* fancy turns to the finalists.

    I.e., me. 😉

    I have another trip coming up; hopefully I’ll finish Jemisin’s novel on the drive back! (I’m about 1/3 into it and do my best listening on long drives.) Maybe some more short fiction reading while I’m away, too; I’ve been too busy/distracted to get back to the novelette I started. ::blush::

  4. Pingback: AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM: 5/30/21 - Amazing Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.