2008 Endeavour Award Winner

Brenda Cooper’s book The Silver Ship and the Sea has won the tenth annual Endeavour Award. The winner was announced November 21 at OryCon.

Full press release appears after the jump.

Portland – The tenth annual Endeavour Award winner was announced November 21 at Oregon‘s major science fiction convention, OryCon. Brenda Cooper won for her book “The Silver Ship and the Sea,” published by Tor Books. The Award is accompanied by an honorarium of $1,000.00 and an engraved glass plaque.

The other finalists were “The Book of Joby,” by Mark J. Ferrari; “Bright of the Sky,” by Kay Kenyon; “Not Flesh Nor Feathers,” by Cherie Priest; and “Powers,” by Ursula K. LeGuin. Thirty seven books published in 2007 were entered for the Award.

The annual Endeavour Award honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. All entries are read and scored by seven readers randomly selected from a panel of preliminary readers. The five highest scoring books then go to three judges, who are all professional writers or editors.

The judges for the 2008 Award were Ellen Asher, Steven Barnes, and Russell Davis. Steven Barnes presented the Award.

To be eligible for 2009’s Endeavour Award, a book — either a novel or a single-author collection — must have been published for the first time in English during 2008. The majority of the book must have been written, and the book accepted for publication, while the author was living in the Pacific Northwest Oregon, Washington,
, Alaska, British Columbia, or the Yukon.) Deadline to enter
books published during 2008 is February 15, 2009. Full information on entering the Award is available on the Endeavour Web site:


The Endeavour Award is sponsored by Oregon Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. (OSFCI), a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.