2008 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the finalists for its 2008 scholarship and literature awards. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon XXXIX, to be held from August 15-18, 2008, in New Britain, Connecticut.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • Theodora Goss, In the Forest of Forgetting (Prime Books)

  • Nalo Hopkinson, The New Moon’s Arms (Grand Central Publishing)

  • Guy Gavriel Kay, Ysabel (Roc)

  • Catherynne M. Valente, Orphan’s Tales, consisting of In the Night Garden (Spectra) and In the Cities of Coin and Spice (Spectra)

  • John C. Wright, Chronicles of Chaos, consisting of Orphans of Chaos (Tor); Fugitives of Chaos (Tor), and Titans of Chaos (Tor)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • Holly Black, Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale (Simon & Schuster); Valiant: A Modern Tale of Faerie (Simon & Schuster); Ironside: A Modern Faery’s Tale (Margaret K. McElderry)

  • Derek Landy, Skulduggery Pleasant (HarperCollins)

  • J.K. Rowling, The Harry Potter series, consisting of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s [Sorcerer’s] Stone (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Bloomsbury); and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Bloomsbury)

  • Nancy Springer, Dusssie (Walker Books for Young Readers)

  • Kate Thompson, The New Policeman (HarperTeen)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • Marjorie Burns, Perilous Realms: Celtic and Norse in Tolkien’s Middle-earth (University of Toronto Press, 2005)

  • Verlyn Flieger, Interrupted Music: The Making of Tolkien’s Mythology (Kent State University Press, 2005)

  • Peter Gilliver, Jeremy Marshall and Edmund Weiner, The Ring of Words: Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press, 2006)

  • Diana Pavlac Glyer; appendix by David Bratman, The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community (Kent State University Press, 2007)

  • John D. Rateliff, The History of the Hobbit, Part One, Mr Baggins; Part Two, Return to Bag-End (HarperCollins, 2007)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • Charles Butler, Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children’s Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper (Children’s Literature Association & Scarecrow Press, 2006)

  • Heather O’Donoghue, From Asgard to Valhalla: The Remarkable History of the Norse Myths (I.B. Tauris, 2007)

  • T.A. Shippey, editor, The Shadow-Walkers: Jacob Grimm’s Mythology of the Monstrous (Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2005)

  • Richard Carl Tuerk, Oz in Perspective: The Magic and Myth of the L. Frank Baum Books (McFarland & Co., 2007)

  • Milly Williamson, The Lure of the Vampire: Gender, Fiction and Fandom from Bram Stoker to Buffy (Wallflower, 2006)

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

3 thoughts on “2008 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

  1. Pingback: Science Fiction Awards Watch » Blog Archive » Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

  2. It’s a great recognition for her and David Bratman. I’m very excited about it.

Comments are closed.