2013 Prix Auroras

Aurora_2013_winners (2) SMALL

From left: Kari Maaren, Hayden Trenhold, Brett Alexander Savory for
Erik Mohr, Tanya Huff, Robert J. Sawyer, Clifford Samuels for Randy
McCharles and Ron Friedman, Derek Newman-Stille. Photo credit: Eileen Capes

The winners of the 2013 Prix Auroras were announced in Ottawa at Can-Con this weekend.

Novel: The Silvered – Tanya Huff
YA Fiction: Under my Skin, The Wildlings – Charles de Lint
Short Fiction: The Walker of the Shifting Borderland – Douglas Smith
Poem / Song: A Sea Monster Tells His Story – David Clink
Graphic Novel: Weregeek – Alina Pete
Related Work: Hayden Trenholm – Blood and Water
Artist: Erik Mohr – Cover Art for ChiZine Publications
Fan Publication: Speculating Canada Blog – Derek Newman-Stille
Fan Filk: Kari Maaren – Body of Work
Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles – When Worlds Collide
Fan Related Work: Ron Friedman – Aurora Awards Voter Package

The Best English Novel winner, Tanya Huff, received a trophy and a check for $1000 from SFCanada, the Canada sf and fantasy writers association. This is her first win.

In its inaugural year, the Best English Young Adult Novel award was given to Ottawa’s Charles de Lint, his eleventh Aurora nomination and second win.

Robert J. Sawyer was presented with a special Lifetime Achievement award for his dedication to the promotion of Science, Science Fiction and mentoring new and aspiring writers.

For over 30 years the Aurora awards have been given out for Canadian literary and fan works that members of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association (CSFFA) feel are exceptional.

[Thanks to the Aurora administrator and Taral for the story.]

Update 10/08/2013: Changed to indicate this is Huff’s first win, per corrected Aurora press release.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

2 thoughts on “2013 Prix Auroras

  1. Mike: I believe — because I’ve seen Dale Speirs stress it so often — that the event run by Randy McCharles is When Words Collide. — Mark

  2. And so it is — http://www.whenwordscollide.org/. Thanks for the correction!

    The winner was correctly spelled in their press release, but I copied the list from their blog to save myself formatting work and did not notice the typo online. I’ll send a note to the Aurora administrator.

Comments are closed.