2013 World Fantasy Award Nominees

The 2013 World Fantasy Award shortlist has been published. The winners will be announced at the 2013 World Fantasy Convention in Brighton on November 3.

•  The Killing Moon, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
•  Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz; Doubleday)
•  The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Roc)
•  Crandolin, Anna Tambour (Chômu)
•  Alif the Unseen, G. Willow Wilson (Grove; Corvus)

•  ‘Hand of Glory’, Laird Barron (The Book of Cthulhu II)
•  ‘Let Maps to Others’, K.J. Parker (Subterranean Summer 2012)
•  ‘The Emperor’s Soul’, Brandon Sanderson (Tachyon)
•  ‘The Skull’, Lucius Shepard (The Dragon Griaule)
•  ‘Sky’, Kaaron Warren (Through Splintered Walls)

•  ‘The Telling’, Gregory Norman Bossert (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 11/29/12)
•  ‘A Natural History of Autumn’, Jeffrey Ford (F&SF 7-8/12)
•  ‘The Castle That Jack Built’, Emily Gilman (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 1/26/12)
•  ‘Breaking the Frame’, Kat Howard (Lightspeed 8/12)
•  ‘Swift, Brutal Retaliation’, Meghan McCarron (Tor.com 1/4/12)

•  Epic: Legends of Fantasy, John Joseph Adams, ed. (Tachyon)
•  Three Messages and a Warning: Contemporary Mexican Short Stories of the Fantastic, Eduardo Jiménez Mayo & Chris N. Brown, eds. (Small Beer)
•  Magic: An Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane, Jonathan Oliver, ed. (Solaris)
•  Postscripts #28/29: Exotic Gothic 4, Danel Olson, ed. (PS Publishing)
•  Under My Hat: Tales from the Cauldron, Jonathan Strahan, ed. (Random House)

•  At the Mouth of the River of Bees, Kij Johnson (Small Beer)
•  Where Furnaces Burn, Joel Lane (PS Publishing)
•  The Unreal and the Real: Selected Stories Volume One: Where on Earth and Volume Two: Outer Space, Inner Lands, Ursula K. Le Guin (Small Beer)
•  Remember Why You Fear Me, Robert Shearman (ChiZine)
•  Jagannath, Karin Tidbeck (Cheeky Frawg)

•  Vincent Chong
•  Didier Graffet and Dave Senior
•  Kathleen Jennings
•  J.K. Potter
•  Chris Roberts

•  Peter Crowther & Nicky Crowther for PS Publishing
•  Lucia Graves for the translation of The Prisoner of Heaven (Weidenfeld & Nicholson; Harper) by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
•  Adam Mills, Ann VanderMeer, & Jeff VanderMeer for the Weird Fiction Review website
•  Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi for ChiZine Publications
•  William K. Schafer for Subterranean Press

•  Scott H. Andrews for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
•  L. Timmel Duchamp for Aqueduct Press
•  S.T. Joshi for Unutterable Horror: A History of Supernatural Fiction, Volumes 1 & 2 (PS Publishing)
•  Charles A. Tan for Bibliophile Stalker blog
•  Jerad Walters for Centipede Press
•  Joseph Wrzos for Hannes Bok: A Life in Illustration (Centipede Press)

Plus, Lifetime Achievement Awards will be given to Susan Cooper and Tanith Lee.

The 2013 World Fantasy Award judges are Holly Black, Tom Clegg, Marc Laidlaw, Stephen Laws, and Stephanie Smith.

[Via Irene Gallo.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.