2014 British Fantasy Award Nominees

The 2014 British Fantasy Award nominees are:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • Between Two Thorns, Emma Newman (Angry Robot)
  • Blood and Feathers: Rebellion, Lou Morgan (Solaris)
  • The Glass Republic, Tom Pollock (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman (Headline)
  • A Stranger in Olondria, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer Press)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • House of Small Shadows, Adam Nevill (Pan)
  • Mayhem, Sarah Pinborough (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • NOS4R2, Joe Hill (Gollancz)
  • Path of Needles, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Shining Girls, Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
  • The Year of the Ladybird, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Novella

  • Beauty, Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
  • Dogs With Their Eyes Shut, Paul Meloy (PS Publishing)
  • Spin, Nina Allan (TTA Press)
  • Vivian Guppy and the Brighton Belle, Nina Allan (Rustblind and Silverbright)
  • Whitstable, Stephen Volk (Spectral Press)

Best Short Story

  • Chalk, Pat Cadigan (This Is Horror)
  • Death Walks En Pointe, Thana Niveau (The Burning Circus)
  • Family Business, Adrian Tchaikovsky (The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic)
  • The Fox, Conrad Williams (This Is Horror)
  • Golden Apple, Sophia McDougall (The Lowest Heaven)
  • Moonstruck, Karin Tidbeck (Shadows & Tall Trees #5)
  • Signs of the Times, Carole Johnstone (Black Static #33)

Best Collection

  • For Those Who Dream Monsters, Anna Taborska (Mortbury Press)
  • Holes for Faces, Ramsey Campbell (Dark Regions Press)
  • Monsters in the Heart, Stephen Volk (Gray Friar Press)
  • North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer Press)

Best Anthology

  • End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)
  • Fearie Tales, Stephen Jones (ed.) (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Rustblind and Silverbright, David Rix (ed.) (Eibonvale Press)
  • Tales of Eve, Mhairi Simpson (ed.) (Fox Spirit Books)
  • The Tenth Black Book of Horror, Charles Black (ed.) (Mortbury Press)

Best Small Press

  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

Best Non-Fiction

  • Gestalt Real-Time Reviews, D.F. Lewis
  • Doors to Elsewhere, Mike Barrett (The Alchemy Press)
  • Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin (ed.)
  • Speculative Fiction 2012, Justin Landon and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London)
  • “We Have Always Fought”: Challenging the “Women, Cattle and Slaves” Narrative, Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of Ink)

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Black Static, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • Clarkesworld, Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace (ed.) (Wyrm Publishing)
  • Interzone, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • Shadows & Tall Trees, Michael Kelly (ed.) (Undertow Books)

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Demeter, Becky Cloonan (Becky Cloonan)
  • Jennifer Wilde, Maura McHugh, Karen Mahoney and Stephen Downey (Atomic Diner Comics)
  • Porcelain, Benjamin Read and Chris Wildgoose (Improper Books)
  • Rachel Rising, Terry Moore (Abstract Studio)
  • Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
  • The Unwritten, Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best Artist

  • Adam Oehlers
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Daniele Serra
  • Joey Hi-Fi
  • Tula Lotay
  • Vincent Chong

Best Film/Television Episode

  • Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor, Steven Moffat (BBC)
  • Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)
  • Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón and Jonás Cuarón (Warner Bros)
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro (Warner Bros)
  • Iron Man 3, Drew Pearce and Shane Black (Marvel Studios)

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice (Orbit)
  • Emma Newman, for Between Two Thorns (Angry Robot)
  • Francis Knight, for Fade to Black (Orbit)
  • Laura Lam, for Pantomime (Strange Chemistry)
  • Libby McGugan, for The Eidolon (Solaris)
  • Samantha Shannon, for The Bone Season (Bloomsbury)

The winners will be selected by the previously announced juries. The British Fantasy Society committee will decide the winner of the Karl Edward Wagner Award. The awards will be announced at FantasyCon 2014 in September.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.