2014 Copper Cylinder Awards

Copper Cylinder Award

Copper Cylinder Award

Members of the Sunburst Award Society have selected the 2014 winners of its Copper Cylinder Awards.

Best Adult Novel
River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay

Best Young Adult Novel
Homeland by Cory Doctorow

This is a popularly voted award. The award’s name is a homage to the first Canadian scientific romance, “A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder,” by James De Mille (1833-1880).

The winners receive a handcrafted copper cylinder trophy designed by Peter Halasz & Rebecca Simkin.

The Sunburst Society also gives the juried Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic. Both awards celebrate Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One thought on “2014 Copper Cylinder Awards

  1. I understand the significance of the award and to the story it takes itself from, but I wouldn’t want to display it on my mantel, for any casual visitor to think I had a pipe bomb lying around.

Comments are closed.