2016 Campbell Award Shortlist

Campbell-trophy-sThe finalists for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel of the year have been announced.

The Campbell Award is a juried award. The current jurors are Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and Lisa Yaszek. James Gunn has served the jury since its earliest days.

To make it onto the list as a finalist, a book must receive at least one vote from the jury (1st, 2nd, or 3rd place – or, in some cases, Honorable Mention).

Paolo Bacigalupi The Water Knife Orbit / Knopf
Dave Hutchinson Europe at Midnight Rebellion
Eleanor Lerman Radiomen The Permanent Press
Ian McDonald Luna: New Moon Gollancz / Tor Books
James Morrow Galapagos Regained St. Martin’s Press
Linda Nagata Going Dark Mythic Island Press / Saga Press
Nnedi Okorafor The Book of Phoenix DAW
Kit Reed Where Tor Books
Kim Stanley Robinson Aurora Orbit
Adam Roberts The Thing Itself Gollancz
Neal Stephenson Seveneves William Morrow / Harper Collins

This year’s Award will be presented on Thursday evening (August 18) during the 2016 WorldCon (MidAmeriCon II) in Kansas City.