2018 David Gemmell Awards

The 2018 David Gemmell Awards For Fantasy — the Legend, Morningstar, and Ravenheart Awards — were presented July 14 at Edge-Lit 7 in Derby, UK.

The awards recognize the best in fantasy fiction and artwork.


The Legend Award is presented to the fantasy title judged the year’s best by open vote.

  • Robin Hobb: Assassin’s Fate, Book 3 of Fitz and The Fool (HarperVoyager)


The Morningstar Award honors the author judged to have made the year’s best debut in fantasy fiction.

  • Nicholas Eames: Kings of the Wyld, Book 1 of The Band (Orbit)


The Ravenheart Award is given to the creator of the year’s best fantasy book cover art.

  • Richard Anderson for Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames (Orbit): Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio.

This is the awards’ tenth year.

[Thanks to Mark Hepworth for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

2 thoughts on “2018 David Gemmell Awards

  1. Kings of the Wyld is fantastic winner. I thoroughly enjoyed the story as well as the underlying message of the book. A well crafted first book!

    Wisdom includes not getting angry unnecessarily. The Law ignores trifles and the wise man does, too. – Job:A Comedy of Justice

  2. Pingback: Ganadores de los premios David Gemmell – Fantástica – Ficción

Comments are closed.