2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award Winners

The winners of the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Awards have been announced. The awards recognize excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror by New Zealanders.

The winners were decided by a vote of the members of SFFANZ, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand Inc., and of the national convention, Conclave 3, held March 30-April 2.

Best Novel

Hounds of the Underworld – Dan Rabarts and Lee Murray

Best Youth Novel

The Traitor and the Thief – Gareth Ward

Best Novella / Novelette

Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body – Simon Petrie

Best Short Story

“Crimson Birds of Small Miracles” – Sean Monaghan

Best Collected Work

Mariah’s Prologues – Grace Bridges

Best Professional Artwork

Cover for “Teleport” – Kate Strawbridge

Best Professional Production/Publication

Mistlands – Laya Rose

Best Dramatic Presentation

The Changeover – Stuart McKenzie, Miranda Harcourt, Emma Slade

Best Fan Artwork

John Toon

Best Fan Production/ Publication

Lexicon convention booklet – Darusha Wehm

Best Fan Writing

Jo Toon

Best New Talent

Gareth Ward

Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror

Darian Smith

Services To Fandom

Jan Butterworth

3 thoughts on “2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award Winners

  1. “Hounds of the Underworld blends mystery, near-future noir and horror.” Well. I’m there.

  2. Pingback: Ganadores de los premios Sir Julius Vogel 2018 – Fantástica – Ficción

Comments are closed.