2018 Splatterpunk Awards Finalists

Nominees for this year’s Splatterpunk Awards were announced on The Horror Show with Brian Keene podcast,  The awards ceremony will take place at KillerCon in Austin, TX, August 24-26.

The nominees were selected by the jurors for this year’s Splatterpunk Awards: David J. Schow, Gerard Houarner, Monica J. O’Rourke, Mike Lombardo, and Tod Clark. Jurors are ineligible for consideration for a Splatterpunk Award in any category.


  • CONTAINMENT by Charlee Jacob (Necro Publications)
  • EXORCIST FALLS by Jonathan Janz (Sinister Grin Press)
  • THE HEMATOPHAGES by Stephen Kozeniewski (Sinister Grin Press)
  • SPERMJACKERS FROM HELL by Christine Morgan (Deadite Press)
  • WHITE TRASH GOTHIC by Edward Lee (Deadite Press)


  • THE BIG BAD by K. Trap Jones (Necro Publications)
  • DAMN DIRTY APES by Adam Howe (Thunderstorm Books)
  • HEADER 3 by Edward Lee and Ryan Harding (Necro Publications)
  • KILLER CHRONICLES by Somer Canon (Thunderstorm Books)
  • THE LUCKY ONES DIED FIRST by Jack Bantry (Deadite Press)


  • “Dirty Desk” by Jeffrey Thomas, from Chopping Block Party (Necro Publications)
  • “Extinction Therapy” by Bracken MacLeod, from Splatterpunk Fighting Back (Splatterpunk Zine)
  • “Melvin” by Matt Shaw, from Splatterpunk Fighting Back (Splatterpunk Zine)
  • “Molly” by Glenn Rolfe, from Splatterpunk Fighting Back (Splatterpunk Zine)
  • “The Tipping Point” by Jeff Strand, from Everything Has Teeth (Thunderstorm Books)


  • 2017: A YEAR OF HORROR AND PAIN, PART ONE by Matt Shaw (Amazon Digital Services)
  • EVERYTHING HAS TEETH by Jeff Strand (Thunderstorm Books)
  • THE GARDEN OF DELIGHT by Alessandro Manzetti (Comet Press)
  • GORILLA IN MY ROOM by Jack Ketchum (Cemetery Dance Publications)


  • CHOPPING BLOCK PARTY, edited by Brendan Deneen and David G. Barnett (Necro Publications)
  • DOA III, edited by Marc Ciccarone and Andrea Dawn (Blood Bound Books)
  • SPLATTERPUNK FIGHTING BACK, edited by Jack Bantry and Kit Power (Splatterpunk Zine)
  • VS:X: U.S. VS U.K. EXTREME HORROR, edited by Dawn Cano (Shadow Work Publishing)
  • YEAR’S BEST HARDCORE HORROR VOLUME 2, edited by Randy Chandler and Cheryl Mullenax (Comet Press)

Also announced was the inaugural winner of the — 

J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award 

  • David J. Schow

[Thanks to Dann for the story.]