2018 World Fantasy Awards

The World Fantasy Awards were presented November 4 at the World Fantasy Convention in Baltimore, Maryland.


For 2018, the Life Achievement Awards were given to:

  • Charles de Lint
  • Elizabeth Wollheim



  • The Changeling by Victor LaValle (Spiegel & Grau/Canongate Press UK)
  • Jade City by Fonda Lee (Orbit)


  • Passing Strange by Ellen Klages (Tor.com)

SHORT FICTION under 10,000 words

  • “The Birding: A Fairy Tale” by Natalia Theodoridou (Strange Horizons, Dec. 18, 2017)

ANTHOLOGY multiple author original or reprint single or multiple editors

  • The New Voices of Fantasy, edited by Peter S. Beagle and Jacob Weisman (Tachyon Publications)

COLLECTION single author/team original or reprint single or multiple editors

  • The Emerald Circus by Jane Yolen (Tachyon Publications)


  • Gregory Manchess


  • Harry Brockway, Patrick McGrath, and Danel Olson for Writing Madness (Centipede Press)


  • Justina Ireland and Troy L. Wiggins, for FIYAH: Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction.

Winners who were present:

  • Gregory Manchess

  • Jacob Weisman

  • Natalia Theodoridou

  • Ellen Klages

  • Fonda Lee

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

7 thoughts on “2018 World Fantasy Awards

  1. Congrats to the winners!

    “Best Short Fiction…Best Long Fiction”

    The latter is Best Novella.

  2. I hate to ask this but are there two categories, one called novella and one called long fiction? Looking back back through the actual awards, it seems both sort of show up as they may with no discernible pattern.

  3. That new trophy is just so much more aesthetically appealing than the old one, all other considerations aside.

    It’s pretty and definitely suggests fantasy OR horror, not just horror.

    Congrats to all.

  4. @Cat Eldridge: This year they called the longer one Best Novella and the shorter one Best Short Fiction (in the program: Best Short Story…sigh), but I guess they’re not as consistent as I thought.

    @Mike Glyer: Thanks; I didn’t dig deep enough. Hey if we want to talk variations, the Tiptree is very changeable. 😉 Just to keep me confused.

  5. Pingback: Ganadores de los premios World Fantasy 2018 – Fantástica – Ficción

Comments are closed.