2019 Norma K Hemming Award Taking Entries

The 2019 Norma K Hemming Award, designed to recognize excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a published speculative fiction work, is now open for entries. Works published in 2018 are eligible.

The award is open to short fiction, novellas, novels, anthologies, collections, graphic novels and stage plays, and makes allowances for serialized work. Entry is free for all works, and entries may be provided to the judges in print or digital format.

Two prizes will be given, one for short fiction (up to 17,500 words) and one award for long work (novellas, novels, collections, anthologies, graphic novels and play scripts), with a cash prize and citation awarded.

“We encourage publishers and creators to carefully consider their work from the eligible period,” said award administrator Tehani Croft. “It is our goal to see all eligible material considered by the jurors. It is important to us that every person has the opportunity to see themselves reflected in fiction, and we hope that the Norma can have some part to play in making works dealing in themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in speculative fiction more visible.”

Entries will close on January 31, 2019.

The jurors for the award are:


  • Eugen Bacon
  • Jack Bridges
  • Gene Melzack
  • Nicole Murphy


  • Jake Kalago
  • Russell Kirkpatrick
  • Stephanie Lai
  • Alexandra Pierce

For further information, please contact award administrator Tehani Croft at nkh-[email protected].

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.