2019 Sunburst Award Longlists

Sunburst medallion.

The 2019 longlists for the Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic were posted June 12.

The annual Sunburst Award celebrates the best in Canadian fantastika published during the previous calendar year.

Below are the longlisted works, with links where available:

Adult Fiction

Young Adult Fiction

Short Story Fiction   

The Sunburst Award official shortlist will be announced in late June. Sunburst Award winners will be announced in Fall 2019.

The Jurors for the 2019 Sunburst awards are:

  • Novel Jury: Greg Bechtel, Janie Chang, Susan Forest, Kari Maaren, and Susan Reynolds.
  • Short Story Jury: S.M. Beiko, David Demchuk, and Gemma Files.

Winners receive a medallion that incorporates the Sunburst logo. Winners of both the Adult and Young Adult Sunburst Award also receive a cash prize of $1,000, while winners of the Short Story Sunburst Award receive a cash prize of $500.

The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction. Past winners of the Sunburst Award include Ruth Ozeki, Guy Gavriel Kay, Cory Doctorow, Nalo Hopkinson, Charles de Lint, Thomas King, and last year’s winners David Demchuk and Cherie Dimaline.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One thought on “2019 Sunburst Award Longlists

Comments are closed.