2020 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2020 Theakston old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year was unveiled today. The prize was created to celebrate the very best in crime fiction and is open to UK and Irish crime authors whose novels were published in paperback during the eligibility period.

  • My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite (Atlantic Books)
  • Worst Case Scenario by Helen Fitzgerald (Orenda Books)
  • The Lost Man by Jane Harper (Little, Brown Book Group, Little, Brown)
  • Joe Country by Mick Herron (John Murray Press)
  • The Chain by Adrian McKinty (Orion Publishing Group, Orion Fiction)
  • Smoke and Ashes by Abir Mukherjee (VINTAGE, Harvill Secker)

The public has until July 17 to vote for the winner at https://harrogatetheakstoncrimeaward.com/vote/.  

The winner is ordinarily announced at the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, hosted in Harrogate each July, however, the 2020 event has been cancelled because of he COVID-19 epidemic. This year, the winner will be revealed at a virtual awards ceremony on July 31, and receive £3,000, and a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakston Old Peculier.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One thought on “2020 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Shortlist

  1. I have read three of the six finalists (My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite, The Chain by Adrian McKinty and Smoke and Ashes by Abir Mukherjee) and they’re all excellent choices.

Comments are closed.