2022 Tomorrow Prize Finalists

The Tomorrow Prize and The Green Feather Award: Celebrity Readings & Honors, an in-person event on May 22, will recognize outstanding new works of science fiction written by Los Angeles County high school students, as well as this year’s winning ecology-themed sf story.

The 2022 finalists’ stories will be read by celebrity guests on Sunday, May 22 from 4:00-6:00 p.m. Pacific at Vroman’s Bookstore in Pasadena, CA. Register to attend the free event at Eventbrite.

The winners will receive cash prizes. 

  • First, Second, and Third place Tomorrow Prize winners will receive $250, $150, and $100 USD cash prizes.
  • The First place Tomorrow Prize winner will be published in L.A. Parent Magazine

The Green Feather Award is an additional special prize category for an environmentally focused sci-fi story. The winner will receive $250 and online publication by the Nature Nexus Institute.


  • Rico E. Anderson (The Orville)
  • JB Blanc (Arcane)
  • Shayne Eastin (The Monster Project)
  • Bonnie Gordon (Star Trek Prodigy)
  • Tamara Krinsky (Tomorrow’s World Today)
  • Allison Scagliotti (Stitchers)
  • Marcelo Tubert (Star Trek: Picard)


  • Angel Bran – Hollywood High School (“House on Sand”) 
  • Amy Cervantes – Port of Los Angeles High School (“They’re Coming”)
  • Tais Cortez – Port of Los Angeles High School (“Genetic Slumber”)
  • Madison Kay – John Marshall High School (“Backstitching”)
  • Luna Prieto – John Marshall High School (“The Mechanical Planet”)


  • Jonathan Kim – Culver City High School (“The Seagulls Save Culver City”)
  • Jennifer Wu – Downtown Magnets High School (“Eden”)


  • Nancy Duran-Lopez – Port of Los Angeles High School (“Idiosyncrasy”)
  • Nyn Kim – Port of Los Angeles High School (“Final Breath”)
  • Sloane Corddry – Girls Academic Leadership Academy (“Your Case is Quite Unique”)
  • Christine Wu – Downtown Magnets High School (“Gone”)


  • Bobak Ferdowsi – Spacecraft Engineer
  • Keenan Norris – Sci-Fi Novelist & L.A. History Expert
  • Lilliam Rivera – Award Winning Y.A. Novelist
  • Sherri L. Smith – Award Winning Y.A. Novelist

The event also will feature a musical guest, theremin player, Steven Collins, an actor and guidance and control engineer at NASA/JPL. Steve has degrees in Theater Arts and Physics from UC Santa Cruz and built his first theremin in 2001. A lifetime fan of theater, science, and science fiction, Steve spends his time dancing, doing Shakespeare, flying spacecraft around the solar system and recently did a bit of technical consulting for season 2 of Star Trek Picard.

Guests are encouraged to wear a sci-fi themed outfit or accessory to get into the spirit of the readings!

[Based on a press release.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.