Anders Wins 2018 Sturgeon Award

Charlie Jane Anders’ short story “Don’t Press Charges and I Won’t Sue” is the winner of the 2018 Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award.

The award was presented during the Campbell Conference Awards reception on Friday, June 22.

Anders’ story was published in Boston Review: Global Dystopias (Oct 2017).

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award recognizes the best science fiction short story of each year. It was established in 1987 by James Gunn, Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at KU, and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon, including his partner Jayne Engelhart Tannehill and Sturgeon’s children, as an appropriate memorial to one of the great short-story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.

[Thanks to Mark Hepworth for the story.]

4 thoughts on “Anders Wins 2018 Sturgeon Award

  1. Many congratulations to Charlie Jane Anders. That was a very memorable story and I’m surprised it didn’t make the Hugo shortlist.

  2. The award itself puzzled me for a second, till I realized:

    “Ask the next question.”

    I only met Ted once, but what a fascinating guy.

  3. More congrats, Charlie Jane!

    I have wanted an “ask the next question” pin or pendant since I saw Sturgeon wearing one. It’s such a great concept.

  4. Pingback: AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM: 6-24-18 - Amazing Stories

Comments are closed.