BBC Audio Drama Awards 2020 Winners Announced

The BBC Audio Drama Awards 2020 saluted only one genre entry, with Mary Ward-Lowery winning Best Director for her work on Talk to Me: HP Lovecraft, BBC Bristol, BBC Radio 4.

The awards were presented at ceremony in the Radio Theatre of BBC Broadcasting House, London, on February 2.

The BBC Audio Drama Awards – presented by the BBC together with the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain – celebrate the range, originality and cut-through quality of audio drama on air and online and give recognition to the creativity of actors, writers, producers, sound designers and others who work in this genre.

The complete list of winners follows the jump.

Best Original Single Drama

Sea Longing by Elizabeth Kuti, producer Karen Rose, director Jo McInnes, Sweet Talk, BBC Radio 3

Best Original Series or Serial

Life Lines by Al Smith, producer Sally Avens, BBC Radio Drama London, BBC Radio 4

Best Adaptation

Black Water: An American Story by Joyce Carol Oates, adapted by Sarah Wooley, producer Gaynor Macfarlane, BBC Scotland, BBC Radio 4

Best Actor

Stephen Dillane, Sea Longing, director Jo McInnes, Sweet Talk, BBC Radio 3

Best Actress

Rebecca Front, Love in Recovery, director Ben Worsfield, King Bert, BBC Radio 4

Best Director

Mary Ward-Lowery, Talk to Me: HP Lovecraft, BBC Bristol, BBC Radio 4

Best Debut Performance

George Kent, A Kestrel for a Knave, director Fiona McAlpine, Goldhawk Essential, BBC Radio 4

Best Use of Sound

The Invisible, sound by Steve Brooke with Sharon Hughes, producer Nadia Molinari, BBC Radio Drama North, BBC Radio 3

Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)

Phil Wang: Wangsplaining by Phil Wang, producer Matt Stronge, BBC Studios, BBC Radio 4

Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

Alexei Sayle’s Imaginary Sandwich Bar by Alexei Sayle, producer Joe Nunnery, BBC Studios, BBC Radio 4

Best Podcast or Online Audio Drama

Passenger List created by John Scott Dryden, Lauren Shippen and Mark Henry Phillips, Goldhawk Productions, Radiotopia

Best European Drama

Buzz Suppression – Recording Strictly off the Record by Ulrich Bassenge, producers Ulrich Bassenge, Martina Müller-Wallraff and Anina Barandun, WDR (Germany) and SRF (Switzerland)


The Amazing Maya Angelou


Bathwater, by Vicky Foster. Sue Roberts (producer) for BBC Radio 4 (BBC Radio Drama North)

COMMENDATION: By God’s Mercy, by Colette Victor. David Hunter (producer) for BBC World Service (BBC Radio Drama London)


The Hartlepool Spy, by Ian Martin. Sam Ward (producer) for BBC Radio 4 (BBC Studios)

COMMENDATION: Home Front – A Fragile Peace, by Katie Hims. Jessica Dromgoole (producer) for BBC Radio 4 (BBC Radio Drama London)

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.