Critical Edition of Bradbury Stories

Volume One of The Collected Stories of Ray Bradbury: A Critical Edition will be published in 2010 by Kent State University Press.

This scholarly work, edited by Dr. William F. Touponce and Dr. Jon Eller from the Institute for Bradbury Studies, has the goal of “producing texts that accurately represent the historical development of Bradbury’s career as a short story writer, and to record all evidence (textual apparatus listing variants and emendations) on which editorial decisions have been based.”

The lineup of stories in Volume One appears after the jump.

[Thanks to John King Tarpinian for the story.]

The Collected Stories of Ray Bradbury: A Critical Edition

Volume I

General Editor
William F. Touponce

Volume Editors
Jonathan R. Eller and William F. Touponce
Center for Ray Bradbury Studies
Indiana University

Consulting Editor
Donn Albright
Pratt Institute

Volume Introduction
William F. Touponce

The Collected Stories of Ray Bradbury: A Critical Edition
Volume 1: 1938-1943

Table of Contents

Introduction: The Pulp Origins of a Literary Style 10,000 words

Pendulum (1941) c. 5,000 words
Gabriel’s Horn (1941) c. 5,000 words
Final Victim (1941) c. 5,000 words
The Piper (1941) c. 5,000 words
The Candle (1942) 4,000 words
Is That You, Herb? (1942) c. 2,000 words
The Wind (1942) 5,000 words
Eat, Drink and Be Wary (1942) 1,000 words
Promotion to Satellite (1942) 4,700 words
The Crowd (1942) 6,000 words
Chrysalis (1942) 18,000 words
Subterfuge (1942) 3,500 words
And Then-The Silence (1942) 1,800 words
The Lake (1942) 2,400 words
Morgue Ship (1943) 4,300 words
Tomorrow and Tomorrow (1943) 7,000 words
The Monster Maker (1943) 6,000 words
The Scythe (1943) 5,300 words
King of the Gray Spaces (1943) 5,700 words
I, Rocket (1943) 6,500 words
Undersea Guardians (1943) 5,400 words
The Small Assassin (1943) 6,000 words

Appendix A
Selected Amateur Publications (1938-1941) c. 8,000 words
Hollerbochen’s Dilemma (1938)
Hollerbochen Comes Back (1938)
Don’t Get Technatal (1939)
The Pendulum (first version, 1939)
Luana the Living (1940)
The Piper (first version, 1940)
The Secret (1940)
It’s Not the Heat, It’s the Hu- (1940)
Tale of the Mangledomvritch (1941)

Appendix B
Summary of The Unpublished Stories

Chronological Catalog, 1938-1943

Prof. Touponce

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.