Eugie Foster Memorial Award Created

Eugie Foster COMP

The inaugural Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction will be given this year at Dragon Con.

Foster, who passed away in 2014, was the author of the Nebula-winning novelette “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast” and the popular short story “When It Ends, He Catches Her”.

The Eugie Award honors stories that are irreplaceable, that inspire, enlighten, and entertain. We will be looking for stories that are beautiful, thoughtful, and passionate, and change us and the field. The recipient is a story that is unique and will become essential to speculative fiction readers.

The eligible works will be original speculative short fiction, no longer than 20,000 words, published for the first time in English during the previous year.

This is a juried award, taking nominations “from editors, reviewers, and select readers.” The names of the five finalists will be made public before the award recipient is selected.

[Thanks to Mark-kitteh for the story.]

11 thoughts on “Eugie Foster Memorial Award Created

  1. Well deserved, though I’d much rather she was still around writing stories. Far too young to die.

  2. This is a wonderful tribute to Eugie; I’m so glad they’ve decided to do this.

  3. I’m always in favor of awards for short fiction, but this one is really wonderful.

  4. I’m very glad to hear this. I loved “When It Ends, He Catches Her,” in a way a I didn’t think I could love redacted for spoilers stories. As a rule, I really don’t care for them.

  5. Question: is this part of the Dragon Awards– the awards that were created in part to deal with the sort of gaming that kept “When It Ends, He Catches Her” off the Hugo ballot?

    If so, it’s an even better tribute.

  6. A fine and fitting tribute to Eugie

    Working with her made me well aware how she was dedicated to bettering short fiction

    While I’m generally not enthusiastic about Yet More awards in the field, I’ll make an exception for this one

  7. @Glenn Hauman:

    I think this is separate from the Dragon Awards, because it’s a juried award, as opposed to having open voting.

Comments are closed.