Hugo Nominator Eligibility Deadline

The deadline is January 31 to make yourself eligible to nominate for the Hugo Awards if you still need to do so. Already eligible are members of Aussiecon 4, last year’s Worldcon, and Renovation, the 2011 Worldcon. Fans who join Renovation by January 31 will be eligible, too. See details in the press release following the jump. 

The deadline for submitting nominating ballots is March 26.  

Postal queries to: RCFI, PO Box 13278, Portland, OR 97213-0278


Monday, January 24, 2011

Reno, Nevada, USA – Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention, today issued a reminder that the deadline is fast approaching to gain the right to nominate for the 2011 Hugo Awards and John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

To be entitled to submit a nomination ballot you must join Renovation as a Supporting, Attending, or Young Adult member by January 31, 2011, or have been a Supporting or Attending member of Aussiecon 4, the 2010 Worldcon. Nomination ballots must be received by Saturday, March 26, 2011, 23:59 PDT.

After the finalists are announced, all Supporting, Attending, and Young Adult members of Renovation (including all members who join prior to the closing date of the final ballot) will be invited to submit ballots to select the Hugo winners. Renovation members will also be eligible to nominate for the 2012 Hugo Awards to be hosted next year by Chicon 7, the 70th Worldcon, in Chicago, Illinois.

The Hugo Awards are the premier award in the Science Fiction genre, honoring Science Fiction literature and media as well as the genre’s fans. The Hugo Awards were first presented at the 1953 World Science Fiction Convention in Philadelphia (Philcon II), and they have continued to honor Science Fiction and Fantasy notables annually for nearly 60 years.

More information about the Hugo Awards, including details about how to submit a nominating ballot, is available from

For additional information, contact us at [email protected].


Renovation is the 2011 World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”). The first Worldcon occurred in New York City in 1939 and Worldcons have been held annually since then except during World War II. Renovation’s Guests of Honor are Ellen Asher, Charles N. Brown (in memoriam), Tim Powers and Boris Vallejo.

For more details about the convention or to purchase memberships, visit Send press questions, or requests to be removed from the Renovation press release mailing list, to [email protected]. Send general queries to [email protected].

“World Science Fiction Society”, “WSFS”, “World Science Fiction Convention”, “Worldcon”, “NASFiC”, “Hugo Award”, and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award Rocket are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.