Nebula Awards 2008 Final Ballot

SFWA has announced the nominees for the 2008 Nebula Awards. The awards will be presented at the 2009 Nebula Awards Weekend, April 24-26, 2009, in Los Angeles, California. 

Novels: “Little Brother” – Doctorow, Cory (Tor, Apr08); “Powers” – LeGuin, Ursula K. (Harcourt, Sep07); “Cauldron” – McDevitt, Jack (Ace, Nov07); “Brasyl” – McDonald, Ian (Pyr, May07); “Making Money” – Pratchett, Terry (Harper, Sep07); “Superpowers” – Schwartz, David J. (Three Rivers Press, Jun08)

Novellas: “The Spacetime Pool” – Asaro, Catherine (Analog, Mar08); “Dark Heaven” – Benford, Gregory (Alien Crimes, Resnick, Mike, Ed., SFBC, Jan07); “Dangerous Space” – Eskridge, Kelley (Dangerous Space, Aquaduct Press, Jun07); “The Political Prisoner” – Finlay, Charles Coleman (F&SF, Aug08); “The Duke in His Castle” – Nazarian, Vera (Norilana Books, Jun08)

Novelettes: “If Angels Fight” – Bowes, Richard (F&SF, Feb08); “The Ray_Gun: A Love Story” – Gardner, James Alan (Asimov’s, Feb08); “Dark Rooms” – Goldstein, Lisa (Asimov’s, Oct/Nov 07); “Pride and Prometheus” – Kessel, John (F&SF, Jan08); “Night Wind” – Rosenblum, Mary (Lace and Blade, ed. Deborah J. Ross, Norilana Books, Feb08); “Baby Doll” – Sinisalo, Johanna (The SFWA European Hall of Fame, James Morrow & Kathryn Morrow, Ed., Tor, Jun07 <trans. from the Finnish by David Hackston>); “Kaleidoscope” – Wentworth, K.D. (F&SF, May07)

Short Stories: “The Button Bin” – Allen, Mike (Helix: A Speculative Fiction Quarterly, Oct07); “The Dreaming Wind” – Ford, Jeffrey (The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales, Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, Ed., Viking, Jul07); “Trophy Wives” – Hoffman, Nina Kiriki (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, Daw Jan08); “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss” – Johnson, Kij (Asimov’s, Jul08); “The Tomb Wife” – Jones, Gwyneth (F&SF, Aug07); “Don’t Stop” – Kelly, James Patrick (Asimov’s, Jun07); “Mars: A Traveler’s Guide” – Nestvold, Ruth (F&SF, Jan08)

Scripts: “The Dark Knight” – Nolan, Jonathan; Nolan, Christopher, Goyer, David S. (Warner Bros., Jul08) “WALL-E” Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008); “The Shrine” – Wright, Brad (Stargate Atlantis, Aug08)

Norton: “Graceling” – Cashore, Kristin (Harcourt, Oct08); “Lamplighter” -Cornish, D.M. (Monster Blood Tattoo, Book 2, Putnam Juvenile, May08)); “Savvy” – Law, Ingrid (Dial, May08); “The Adoration of Jenna Fox” -Pearson, Mary E. (Henry Holt and Company, Apr08); “Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) -Wilce, Ysabeau S. (Harcourt, Sep08)

Posted February 27, 2009; see

[Thanks to Andrew Porter for the story.]

Update 03/02/2009: SFWA released a corrected slate of finalists after discovering two omissions. The list above has been fixed. SFWA’s explanation follows:

Errata: Upon a procedural review, we discovered an error in the final Nebula tally. Two works that should be on the final ballot were not listed: the novelette “The Ray_Gun: A Love Story” – James Alan Gardner(Asimov’s, Feb08) and “Mars: A Traveler’s Guide” – Ruth Nestvold (F&SF, Jan08) in short stories. No other changes have been made to the final ballot. We apologize for the error and have made changes to the procedures to keep this sort of mistake from happening again.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

3 thoughts on “Nebula Awards 2008 Final Ballot

  1. You’ve squished the nominees for the “Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book” into the Script Award nominees.

    This is the last year for the Best Script Nebula, btw; next year starts a “Ray Bradbury Award for Best Dramatic Presentation,” which, like the Norton, is not-a-Nebula.

Comments are closed.