Sidewise Award Nominees

This year’s nominees for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History (for works published in 2010) have been announced. I’ve linked to some representative reviews if you want to know more about them.

Short Form 

Long Form 

The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction.

The Short-Form Award is presented for the best work of less than 60,000 words. This includes short stories, novelettes and novellas, and poems. One winner was a three-issue comic book series.

The Long-Form Award is presented for the best work longer than 60,000 words. This category includes individual novels and longer works. If a book is part of a series, it must be able to stand on its own to be considered. If it is part of a serial novel — a series in which the storyline is continuous and no volume can stand on its own — the complete serial novel will be considered when the final volume is published.

This year’s judges are Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver. 

The winners will be announced at Renovation, the 2011 Worldcon, on Thursday, August 18.

1 thought on “Sidewise Award Nominees

  1. When I looked up Columbia & Britannia I learned it is a collection of nine stories. I asked Steven H Silver if story collections are recognized as a type of “long form” in the Sidewise Awards scheme of things?

    He answered:

    Usually individual stories in collections are considered individually. In this case we decided the book worked well enough to consider the entire collection as a whole, and therefore long form.


Comments are closed.