Sidewise Awards Nominees for 2011 Work

The nominees for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History (for works published in 2011) have been announced.

Short Form

  • Michael F. Flynn, “The Iron Shirts” (
  • Lisa Goldstein, “Paradise Is a Walled Garden” (Asimov’s, 8/11)
  • Jason Stoddard, “Orion Rising” (Panverse 3, edited by Dario Ciriello,
    Panverse Publishing)
  • Harry Turtledove, “Lee at the Alamo” (

Long Form

  • Robert Conroy, Castro’s Bomb (Kindle)
  • Robert Conroy, Himmler’s War (Baen Books)
  • Jeff Greenfield, Then Everything Changed (Putnam)
  • Ian R MacLeod, Wake Up and Dream (PS Publishing)
  • Ian McDonald, Planesrunner (Pyr)
  • Ekaterina Sedia, Heart of Iron (Prime)
  • Lavie Tidhar, Camera Obscura (Angry Robot)

This year’s panel of judges was Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway and Steven H Silver. The winners will be announced at Chicon 7.