Voting Opens for 2015 David Gemmell Awards

The finalists for the 2015 David Gemmell Awards have been announced. Online voting by the public has commenced and continues through July 17. The Gemmell Awards will be presented at Nine Worlds Geekfest on August 8.

The Legend Award
(for the year’s best fantasy title)

  • Half a King by Joe Abercrombie (HarperCollins)
  • Valour by John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)
  • Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence (HarperCollins)
  • Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz)
  • The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks (Orbit)

The Morningstar Award
(for the author of the year’s best debut in fantasy fiction)

  • Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley (Angry Robot)
  • The Godless by Ben Peek (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)
  • The Emperor’s Blades by Brian Staveley (Pan Macmillan/Tor UK)
  • Age of Iron by Angus Watson (Orbit)

Ravenheart Award
(given to the artist of the year’s best fantasy book cover)

  •  Laura Brett for The Slow Regard of Silent Things
  • Mike Bryan for Half a King
  • Jason Chan for Prince of Fools
  • Sam Green for Words of Radiance
  • Jackie Morris for The Fool’s Assassin

Here is a link to all the nominees’ artwork.