2015 Sunburst Longlist

Sunburst medallion.

Sunburst medallion.

The Sunburst Award jury has selected its long list for the 2015 awards.

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic celebrates the best in Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year.

Adult Category

  • Pastoral by Andre Alexis
  • The Broken Hours by Jaqueline Baker
  • The Troop by Nick Cutter
  • Consumed by David Cronenberg
  • Suffer the Children by Craig DiLouie
  • The First Principles of Dreaming by Beth Goobie
  • Head Full of Mountains by Brent Hayward
  • Irregular Verbs by Matthew Johnson
  • The Back of the Turtle by Thomas King
  • Gifts For the One Who Comes After by Helen Marshall
  • Cloud by Eric McCormack
  • Knife Fight and Other Struggles by David Nickle
  • Emberton by Peter Norman
  • Lockstep by Karl Schroeder
  • Cycling to Asylum by Su J. Sokol
  • Silence For the Dead by Simone St. James
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  • My Real Children by Jo Walton
  • Echopraxia by Peter Watts
  • Will Starling by Ian Weir

Young Adult Category

  • Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong
  • The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier
  • Gottika by Helaine Becker
  • Tin Star by Cecil Castellucci
  • The Voices in Between by Charlene Challenger
  • Guardian by Natasha Deen
  • Child of a Hidden Sea by A.M. Dellamonica
  • A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey
  • Sophie, In Shadow by Eileen Kernaghan
  • Seven Wild Sisters by Charles de Lint
  • The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel
  • The Paper Sword by Robert Priest
  • Zomboy by Richard Scrimger
  • Radiant by Karina Sumner-Smith
  • The Door in the Mountain by Caitlin Sweet
  • Song of the Sword by Ed Willett

The shortlist will be announced in mid-June, and winners in the fall.

Sunburst Award winners receive a cash prize of $1,000 as well as a medallion which incorporates the Sunburst logo.

The jurors for the 2015 award are S.M. Beiko, Gerard Collins, Paula Johanson, Corey Redekop and Sherryl Vint.

Plans to launch a Sunburst Award for short stories, which had been announced for Fall 2015, have now been deferred to 2016.