2010 Ditmar Award Nominations

The Ditmar Awards recognize excellence in SF, fantasy and horror by Australians.

The nominees in the fan categories interested me, partly because I know a few of them and am happy to see them being honored, and partly because the finalists collectively represent contemporary actifans’ scope of interest.  When the changes to the fan Hugo rules settle out I could see things trending in this direction — not these specific nominees, but the mix exemplified by this list, more mediafans (which wouldn’t bother me) and the persistent presence of quasihemisemidemipros in the fan categories (which always has).

    Best Fan Writer

  • Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work
  • Chuck McKenzie, for work in Horrorscope
  • Robert Hood, for Undead Backbrain (roberthood.net/blog)
  • Tehani Wessely, for body of work
  • Bruce Gillespie, for work in Steam Engine Time
  • Best Fan Artist

  • Dave Schembri for work in Midnight Echo
  • Kathleen Jennings for body of work
  • Dick Jenssen for body of work
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • Interstellar Ramjet Scoop, edited by Bill Wright
  • A Writer Goes on a Journey (awritergoesonajourney.com), edited by Nyssa Pascoe et al
  • ASif! (asif.dreamhosters.com), edited by Alisa Krasnostein, Gene Melzack et al
  • Australian Science Fiction Bullsheet (bullsheet.sf.org.au), edited by Edwina Harvey and Ted Scribner
  • Steam Engine Time, edited by Bruce Gillespie and Janine Stinson

The full list of 2010 nominees is here.  

[Thanks to Andrew Porter for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.