2019 Alfie Awards

George R.R. Martin presented Jane Johnson and Malcolm Edwards with Alfie Awards for Editing at the Hugo Losers Party last weekend.

Jane Johnson said, “Such a wonderful honour. We editors work in the shadows, and that’s how it should be, but it’s lovely to receive such recognition.”

Johnson is the British editor for George R.R. Martin, Robin Hobb, and Dean Koontz, and was for many years publisher of the works of J.R.R. Tolkien.

Malcolm Edwards recently left Hachette UK after 43 years at the company. He will join Welbeck Publishing in September to serve as publisher of André Deutsch.

Martin created the Alfie Awards in response to the impact of Puppy slating on the Hugo Awards. Named after Alfred Bester, winner of the first Hugo Award ever, Martin gave his awards at his Hugo Losers Parties in 2015 and 2016. The Alfie trophy design is  inspired by the 1956 Hugos, which were rocket-shaped Oldsmobile automobile hood ornaments. Each Alfie is an individualized trophy featuring a salvaged and beautifully refinished rocket hood ornament.

Martin didn’t give Alfies in 2017. One Alfie was given in 2018 to John Picacio for the Mexicanx Initiative.

Update 08/20/2019: Added 2018 Alfie, based on correction in comments.

[Thanks to Cora Buhlert for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

3 thoughts on “2019 Alfie Awards

  1. Dear ‘Steamed Editor,

    “Martin didn’t give Alfies in 2017 or 2018…”

    Uhhh, no. There was one Alfie given out last year. To John Piccacio for the MexicanX Initiative.

    I knows. I vuz dere!

Comments are closed.