2022 Salam Award

The winner of the 2022 Salam Award for Imaginative Fiction, which recognizes emerging speculative fiction writers of Pakistani origin or residence, is “Children Always Come Home” by Saher Hasnain.

The story follows a woman who is (not quite) at the end of her journey through the various difficulties of running a shoe store during (not quite) the end of the world. Ghosts of family members, dying technology, and lost shoes make appearances.

The winner receives:

  • A cash prize of Rs 50,000
  • Story will be published on the Salam Award website
  • Review by an established literary agent for market guidance and possible representation
  • An editorial review by a professional editor for critique and potential publication in a multi-award winning science fiction magazine

The authors of the other top two stories receive Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000.

The award judges were Shiv Ramdas, Paul Tremblay, and Aamer Hussain.


  • “Takwir Al-Ghaib” by Muhammad Umair Khan
  • “The Dogs of Justice” by Bina Shah


  • “The Stone People” by Hajra Omar
  • “Clarity” by Zayna Rahman
  • “The Qawwal” by Hasnain Nawab
  • “The Seven Degrees Celsius Mango” by Effa Abid Shah

The Salam Award for Imaginative Fiction is named for Dr. Albus Salam, one of the pioneers of science in Pakistan.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.