First Fandom Awards and Big Heart Award Given at Chicon 8 Opening Ceremonies

Three First Fandom awards were announced during Chicon 8’s opening ceremonies on September 1. The Big Heart Award for service to fandom also was presented.

First Fandom was created in 1958. The modern organization defines as “dinosaurs” those active in science fiction or fannish activities by the time of the first Worldcon in 1939. Also, anyone who has engaged in correspondence, collecting, conventions, fanzine publishing or reading, writing or participated in a science fiction club for at least 30 years may be eligible for Associate Membership. These three awards were voted by the members:


The First Fandom Hall of Fame, created in 1963, is a prestigious achievement award given to a living recipient who has made significant contributions to Science Fiction throughout their lifetime.

George W. Price was introduced to science fiction in 1947.  He became active in fandom in the early-1950s and was a member of the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society.  His first convention was TASFiC.  In 1953, he joined the University of Chicago Science Fiction Club, and was later elected president.  Beginning in 1965, he began hosting monthly science fiction parties at his home which continued for 20 years.  He became an early partner in Advent: Publishers.  A technical writer, Army veteran, college graduate and chemical engineer with a life-long interest in limericks and puns, he has been an active science fiction fan for more than 70 years.


The Posthumous Hall of Fame was created in 1994 to acknowledge people in Science Fiction who should have, but did not, receive that type of recognition during their lifetimes.

  • August Derleth

August Derleth was an internationally respected fan, author, editor, correspondent, poet, lecturer and publisher of science fiction as well as a writer of mystery, horror fiction, regional fiction and natural history.  In addition, he was a 1938 Guggenheim Fellow and a co-founder in 1939 of Arkham House.  In 1948, he was elected president of the Associated Fantasy Publishers at Torcon (the 6th Worldcon).  Derleth wrote more than 150 short stories and more than 100 books during his lifetime. It is for these historic accomplishments that August Derleth is being inducted this year into the First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame.


Sam Moskowitz Archive Award was created in 1998 to recognize not only someone who has assembled a world-class collection but also what has actually been done with it.For example: previous award recipients have published articles and books, made collections available for public viewing, loaned items for other projects and donated material to be preserved for future generations.

  • Doug Ellis and Deb Fulton.

Doug Ellis and Deb Fulton run one of the most important pulp conventions that focuses on original artwork, pulps and films covering the past history of the field: the annual Windy City Pulp and Paper Convention. 

Doug and Deb are major collectors of artwork and pulp magazines who generously share their holdings with other fans.  They have conducted significant research and written important books that help perpetuate the memory of past genré artists.  Doug is the author of dozens of essays and, with Deb, has edited and published Pulp Vault for more than 20 years. 

It is for the unique collection that they have assembled and for the service that they have given to the field for decades that the members of First Fandom selected Doug Ellis and Deb Fulton to receive the Sam Moskowitz Archive Award for 2022.

Deb Fulton and Doug Ellis


Mark Linneman was presented the Big Heart Award, fandom’s highest service award.


The Internet Speculative Fiction Database was honored with a special committee award by Chicon 8.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

11 thoughts on “First Fandom Awards and Big Heart Award Given at Chicon 8 Opening Ceremonies

  1. Really, really happy to hear that Mark Linneman was honored with the Big Heart Award!

    Also, a small correction about the cutoff date for eligibility to First Fandom. It was actually the first day of 1938, not the date of the first Worldcon. Bob Madle referenced it in his article in the final issue of Mimosa. Here’s the link:
    (5th paragraph from the end)

  2. The present First Fandom organization defines as “dinosaurs” those active prior to the first Worldcon. I have revised the post to clarify that.

  3. I spoke to Mark Linneman afterwards at the Seattle in 2025 party. He’s really done a lot.

  4. Congratulations to my friend George Price; a longtime friend to both myself and to all of Science Fiction. As one of the publishers of Advent: Publishing. George has been responsible for publishing some of the world’s best books about science fiction. And I can say that he’s one of the nicest fellows I’ve ever met in the SF community. I’m very glad to see George honored by First Fandom and the 2022 Worldcon.

  5. Mark Linneman is a stalwart. I’ve lost count of the number of years I’ve seen him working at Site Selection. And that’s just one thing he does.

  6. The First Fandom Awards are conducted by members of First Fandom; a club originally made up of SF fans who were active in Fandom before 1938, and now made up almost entirely of “Associate” members – younger fans who honor traditional SF and the people who’ve supported it. Members nominate candidates for those awards and vote within the club, and the Worldcon allows the awards to be presented during the convention.

  7. Sure. You can make suggestions to any member at any time. I’m a member. I think Mike Glyer is too, aren’t you, Mike?

    Got someone in mind, Lise?

    You know, it’s been so long since I joined First Fandom that I don’t actually remember the current membership requirements. The President is a fellow named John Coker. And if you’ll do a search on First Fandom, I imagine you’ll find a website with all that information. If you don’t find it, holler back at me and I’ll find out.

  8. Curt Phillips: Yes, I’m a member of First Fandom. And even more so when I remember to pay my dues.

Comments are closed.