Mike Resnick Memorial Award for Short Fiction 2022

The winner of the 2022 Mike Resnick Memorial Award for the best unpublished science fiction short story by a new author was announced at Dragon Con on September 4.

The award is sponsored by Galaxy’s Edge (published by Arc Manor) and Dragon Con. It was presented during the annual Dragon Awards ceremony.

The winner is:

  • “What Would You Pay for a Second Chance?” by Chris Kulp

The first place winner gets a trophy, a cash award of $250 and has their story bought (at the magazine’s prevailing rate) by Galaxy’s Edge for publication in the magazine. The second place winner will be given a prize of $100 and the third place winner a prize of $50. The names of the runners up were not available as of this writing.

The members of the finalist judging panel were Nancy Kress, Sheree Renée Thomas, Jody Lynn Nye, Lois McMaster Bujold, and William B. Fawcett.

[Thanks to Ray Radlein for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.