2016 British Fantasy Awards

BFS_Logo_red_SMALLThe winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2016 were announced on Sunday, September 25, at the awards banquet at FantasyCon 2016 in Scarborough, UK.

Best Anthology

  • The Doll Collection, ed. Ellen Datlow (Tor Books)

Best Artist

  • Julie Dillon

Best Collection

  • Ghost Summer: Stories, Tananarive Due (Prime Books)

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Bitch Planet, Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter (Image Comics) (#2–5)

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Macmillan)

Best Film/Television Production

  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Peter Harness (BBC One)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • Rawblood, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Best Independent Press

  • Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, ed. Scott H. Andrews (Firkin Press)

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Zen Cho, for Sorcerer to the Crown (Macmillan)

Best Non-fiction

  • Letters to Tiptree, ed. Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Novella

  • The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn, Usman T. Malik (Tor.com)

Best Short Fiction

  • Fabulous Beasts, Priya Sharma (Tor.com)

The Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award)

  • The FantasyCon redshirts, past and present

The nominees in each category were decided by the voters of the British Fantasy Society, FantasyCon 2015 and FantasyCon 2016, with the juries having a discretion to add up to two further egregious omissions in each category. The full list of nominees is here.

The winners were decided by the following jury members. Best anthology: Gary Couzens and Zean Fairbanks-Gilbert. Best artist: Caroline Callaghan, Howard Watts and Jay Eales. Best collection: Carole Johnstone, E.G. Cosh and Simon Bestwick. Best comic/graphic novel: Ian Hunter, Jo Thomas and P M Buchan. Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): Elaine Hillson, Rhian Bowley and Ross Warren. Best film/television production: Catherine Hill, Jim Steel and Johnny Mains. Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award): Aleksandra Kesek, Nina Allan and Sarah Carter. Best independent press: El Ashfield, Ole Andreas Imsen and Richard Webb. Best magazine/periodical: Kate Coe, Marcus Gipps and Sean Wallace. Best newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Elloise Hopkins, Lizzie Barrett and Robin Lupton. Best non-fiction: Kevin McVeigh, Martin Petto and Ruth EJ Booth. Best novella: Jo Thomas, Laura Mauro and Mark West. Best short story: Stephen Bacon, Penny Jones and Phil Sloman. The Karl Edward Wagner Award was decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee.

The awards administrator was Stephen Theaker. The physical award is a handmade wooden bookend featuring Lee Thompson’s BFS logo design, commissioned from Sarah Goss, who works in traditional woodcarving and restoration: http://www.sarahgoss.co.uk.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

6 thoughts on “2016 British Fantasy Awards

  1. I appreciate the idea that the award is in the form of a practical bookend. The Glyer Estate barely has room for all of the Hugo’s won by File770 and Mike. If they were bookends he’d have a practical way to use them. ?(big grin)

  2. Yay for various wins by books/people/companies I’d vote for if I could vote (Julie Dillon, Uprooted, JS&MN, Angry Robot) and yay for the ones I’m unfamiliar with, too!

    Oh hey, this is a cross between popular and juried, with the ability for the jury to add two items per category. What a nifty idea. 😉

  3. The combination of popular vote for nominations with juried award selection seems to have worked really well. They’ve ended up with excellent choices across the board. Well done, BFS!

  4. I keep meaning to post a review here for Rawblood, which is spectacularly good.
    ETA: And echoing BigelowT, from what I’m familiar with this is a great selection of winners.

Comments are closed.