Melinda Snodgrass Wins 2019 Skylark Award

Congratulations to Melinda Snodgrass who was presented with the New England Science Fiction Association’s Skylark Award at the Boskone 56 awards ceremony on February 16.

She tweeted thanks for the award along with the above photo.

So honored to have received the Skylark Memorial Award from #NESFA this evening. Fandom you gave me my life & I hope my stories are some small repayment.

The Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction (the Skylark) is presented annually by NESFA to some person, who, in the opinion of the membership, has contributed significantly to science fiction, both through work in the field and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late “Doc” Smith well-loved by those who knew him.

7 thoughts on “Melinda Snodgrass Wins 2019 Skylark Award

  1. I’m glad to see Melinda Snodgrass receive this recognition; it’s very much deserved!

    I hope that she got the obligatory briefing from Jane Yolen. 😀

  2. I had to leave before the award was presented, but Jane Yolen was at Boskone, and if for any reason she was unable to do it, Bruce Coville was also there, so I am absolutely confident that she received the vital safety notice about the placement of her Skylark.

  3. Not only did she get the briefing firsthand — she knew it well enough to recite the moral along with Jane. She followed that with an incredible thank-you speech that she had some trouble getting out due to tears; I hope it gets published in full.

  4. I hope no Skylark Award winners ever leave their trophy by a window where sunlight might pass through it!
    (On digging into Files 770 passim, I see that Jane Yolen has previously drawn attention to this issue.)

Comments are closed.