NESFA Presents Skylark, Gaughan Awards at Boskone 57

The New England Science Fiction Association honored the winners of two annual awards at Boskone 57 on February 15.


  • Betsy Wollheim

The Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction (the Skylark) is presented annually by NESFA® to some person, who, in the opinion of the membership, has contributed significantly to science fiction, both through work in the field and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late “Doc” Smith well-loved by those who knew him.

Betsy Wollheim, Skylark Award winner


  • Iris Compiet

The Gaughan Award honors the memory of Jack Gaughan, a long-time friend of fandom and one of the finest SF artists of the 20th century. Because Jack felt it was important to encourage and recognize new blood in the field, The New England Science Fiction Association, Inc., presents the Gaughan Award annually to an emerging artist (an artist who has become a professional within the past five years) chosen by a panel of judges.

Judges: Patrick Wilshire, Maryanne Plumridge, and Stephen Hickman.

Iris Compiet, Gaughan Award winner

5 thoughts on “NESFA Presents Skylark, Gaughan Awards at Boskone 57

  1. I understand both winners sent very gracious speeches; unfortunately I was too f***ing busy (and not, unlike Dorothy Parker, vice versa) to be where they were read. Maybe they’ll be available online sometime. I’m told that Dan Kimmel presented the traditional warning in the absence of Jane Yolen, who was not in condition to drive the 100+ miles to the convention.

  2. My fondest con memory was Elsie Wollheim (mother of Betsy) at a Kubla Khan, as goh, a short NYC woman, surrounded after her speech by tall Tennessee young men, idolizing her as they lead her off the stage.

Comments are closed.