SFPA Announces 2014 Dwarf Stars Award

ds14The annual Dwarf Stars award, voted on by members of the Science Fiction Poetry Association, recognizes the best speculative poem of 1–10 lines published in the previous year. The award is designed to honor excellent scifaiku, tanka, cinquains, and other types of short poems that tend to be overshadowed in Rhysling Award competition.

The 2014 honorees are:

Winner: “And Deeper than Did Ever Plummet Sound” by Matt Joiner

Second Place: “The Loss” by Mari Ness

Third Place: “Hourglass” by David Livingstone Clink

Poems eligible for the award are collected in the 2014 Dwarf Stars Anthology edited by Sandra J. Lindow, available from SFPA.