The Awards Missing From Rowling’s Resume

One of the leading fantasy writers of her generation, the extremely popular creator of Harry Potter, J.K. Rowling, has won —

  • a Hugo (2001, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire),
  • a Locus Award (2000, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban),
  • two Bram Stoker Awards (2000, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, 2004, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix),
  • SFWA’s Andre Norton Award (2008, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows), and
  • a Mythopoeic Award (2008, for the series as a whole).

Yet Rowling has never even been shortlisted for, much less won, the World Fantasy Award.

She also has yet to be inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame.

Fans can do something about one of those omissions today, if they choose.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame is celebrating its 20th anniversary by opening the nominations and allowing the public to help choose the works and creators they have been most inspired by. Vote here.

Nominate your favorite science fiction and fantasy Creators (e.g. director, actor, writer, animator, composer, etc.) and Creations (e.g. a movie, video game, book, comic/graphic novel, superhero, etc.) by clicking the link below.

In the past the final inductees have been chosen by a panel of sf/f authors, artists, editors, publishers, and film professionals. But according to the message returned when I made my nomination, once the Hall of Fame committee narrows the field to 8-10 selected finalists, people will be able to vote on the selected finalists from April 27-May 11, 2016.

Everyone obviously can nominate anyone you please – just thought I’d get in first with my suggestion….

[Thanks to Steven H Silver for the story – who, by the way, recommends you nominate Murray Leinster.]

Update 04/06/2016: Inserted finalist voting info based on email received from EMP SFF Hall of Fame.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

13 thoughts on “The Awards Missing From Rowling’s Resume

  1. I nominated Avram Davidson. Rowling is, in my view, too recent for a HoF induction (her publishing career started roughly four years after Davidson died).

    I have no illusions-Rowling’s popularity and that of her Potter books will likely sweep everyone and everything else aside. But I met Davidson in college and he was fascinating to talk to, if more than a touch prickly at the same time.

    I love his work and I liked him.

  2. The biggest fantasy author in decades and WFC never even nominated her?

    I croggle.

  3. The biggest fantasy author in decades and WFC never even nominated her?

    I croggle. Was it the YA aspect? Was it the popularity?

  4. I croggle. Was it the YA aspect? Was it the popularity?

    The World Fantasy Awards tend to be more literary and niche in nature than most of the other big awards. The year Rowling won a Hugo for Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel had a tie for first place between Galveston by Sean Stewart and Declare by Tim Powers.

  5. Robert Reynolds: Rowling has already turned out a Hall of Fame body of work. In fact, it would be a good idea to vote her in now before Pottermore adds anything elese that might talk us out of doing so…

  6. Cherryh and Bujold jumped to my mind, but after a bit of pondering I’ve added Iain M Banks as well.

    The voting process says that a panel will be choosing some finalists and then there will be another public vote.

  7. The voting form doesn’t seem to be restricted to only one nomination, so I’ve just voted J. G. Ballard, Murray Leinster, Fredric Brown and Neil Gaiman. Most of the people who immediately sprang to mind seem to be already inducted into the HoF.

  8. Mr. Glyer:

    If, as you say, Ms. Rowling has already compiled a body of work sufficient to get into the HoF, given her popularity, she’s a cinch to make it eventually. It’s not really debatable in her case.

    There are quite a few authors who are deserving of inclusion who aren’t yet in. Some, like Davidson, have almost been forgotten at this point. For them, if they have a chance to get in, it likely needs to happen sooner rather than later.

    Rowling is pretty much a lock to get in. It’s not going to hurt her chances to wait, even if she lays an egg the size of Gibralter. Others who deserve to get in aren’t so certain.

Comments are closed.