2014 SF & Technoculture Studies Award

The Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies program at the University of California, Riverside has named as winner of the second annual SFTS book award David Wittenberg, Associate Professor of Cinematic Arts at The University of Iowa, for Time Travel: The Popular Philosophy of Narrative (Fordham UP, 2013).

Wittenberg will receive the award, which consists of a cash prize, at the 2014 SFRA/WisCon Conference, May 22-25 in Madison, Wisconsin.

Honorable mentions were received by Joshua Raulerson, for Singularities: Technoculture, Transhumanism, and Science Fiction in the Twenty-First Century (Liverpool University Press), by Kevin LaGrandeur, for Androids and Intelligent Networks in Early Modern Literature and Culture(Routledge).

The jury for the prize was Anindita Bannerjee (Cornell University), Pawel Frelik (Maria Curie-Sk?odowska University, Poland), and Sherryl Vint (University of California, Riverside), who served as jury chair.