2013 Van Vogt Award
Submissions Sought

The Winnepeg Science Fiction Association is accepting submissions for the 2013 A. E. van Vogt Book Award through August 31.

The Award is given to for a first-edition science fiction novel or full-length science fiction short story anthology, written by an author linked to Western Canada by birth or residency. The nominated work must have been published during the period 2007 to 2012.

The complete rules and detailed submission requirements are here.

This is the award’s second year — Alphanauts by Brian J. Clarke (Edge) won the inaugural A.E. Van Vogt Award in 2012. It consists of a $1200 cash prize and a presentation piece.

A. E. Van Vogt was born in Manitoba, Canada. He wrote a major story, “Slan,” while still living in Winnipeg. The pinnacle of his career was being designated a SFWA Grandmaster. He is the only Canadian to have won the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award.

The stated goals of the van Vogt Award are:

  • Draw attention to Canadian Science Fiction
  • Demonstrate that Canada has been producing World class writers for some time.
  • Cause more people to talk about Science Fiction .
  • Promote better writing.
  • Discover more writers.

[Thanks to John Mansfield for the story.]