Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards 2022

The 29th Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards ceremony was held February 14 at the Royal College of Physicians in London. It honored two years of the best of British writing following the cancellation of last year’s awards due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The awards are given in 16 categories of film, television, radio, theatre, comedy, books and videogames.

Jo Fletcher noted in an email, “The pertinent one (for me!) is Eli Lee winning Best First Novel for A Strange and Brilliant Light,” which is published by Jo Fletcher Books.

Russell T Davies, known to fans for Doctor Who, won for his non-sff series It’s a Sin, which “follows a group of gay men who move to London in 1981. They form a friendship group but the fast-developing HIV/AIDS crisis in the United Kingdom impacts their lives.”

Stage and screen writer Jack Thorne was presented with the prestigious Outstanding Contribution to Writing Award. His work includes co-writing BBC’s fantasy drama trilogy His Dark Materials, and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child at the Palace Theatre.

Best Writing in a Video Game was awarded to Jon Ingold for Overboard!

The complete list of winners follows the jump. (See the full shortlists here).

Continue reading