2022 Splatterpunk Award Nominees

Splatterpunk Award founders Wrath James White and Brian Keene have announced the nominees for the 2022 Splatterpunk Awards, honoring superior achievement for works published in 2020 in the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror.

They have also named the recipient of the fifth annual J. F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award (honoring individuals who, like Gonzalez, have made a significant impact on the Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror field).

SPLATTERPUNK HALL OF LEGENDS. Also, with the advent of the fifth annual Splatterpunk Awards, White and Keene have created the Splatterpunk Hall of Legends, a physical memorial that will be displayed at every KillerCon event, “featuring artifacts and ephemera related to the honorees, as well as a chronicle of their individual achievements, and an eternal flame burning for each. It is to serve as a place where genre fans both young and old can pay their respects and learn more about the creators who have shaped the field.”

The initial honorees will be Richard Laymon, Jack Ketchum, J.F. Gonzalez, Charlee Jacob, John Pelan, Gak, and David G. Barnett (winner of the 2019 J. F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award). Their induction will occur August 13 at KillerCon 2022 in Austin, Texas. The Splatterpunk Hall of Legends will be open to attendees August 12-14.



  • Don’t Go To Wheelchair Camp by David Irons (Severed Press)
  • Trench Mouth by Christine Morgan (Madness Heart Press)
  • The Maddening by Carver Pike (Independently Published)
  • The Devoured And The Dead by Kristopher Rufty (Death’s Head Press)
  • The Night Stockers by Kristopher Triana and Ryan Harding (The Evil Cookie Publishing)
  • Left To You by Daniel J. Volpe (D&T Publishing)


  • Midnight In The City Of The Carrion Kid by James G. Carlson (Gloom House Publishing)
  • Only The Stains Remain by Ross Jeffery (Cemetery Gates Media)
  • Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke by Eric LaRocca (Weirdpunk Books)
  • A Roll Of the Dice by Matt Shaw (Independently Published)
  • Sacrament by Steve Stred (Black Void Publishing)
  • Talia by Daniel J. Volpe (Independently Published)


  • “The Martini Club” by Aron Beauregard (from Beyond Reform, Aron Beauregard Horror)
  • “Fireflies and Apple Pies” by Thomas R. Clark (from The God Provides, St. Rooster Books)
  • “Sun Poison” by Stephen Kozeniewski (from Battered, Broken Bodies, Independently Published)
  • “Start Today” by Justin Lutz (from Teenage Grave, Filthy Loot)
  • “Abigail” by Daemon Manx (Terror Tract Publishing)
  • “Next Best Baker” by Jeff Strand (from Baker’s Dozen, Uncomfortably Dark)


  • Beyond Reform by Jon Athan, Aron Beauregard, and Jasper Bark (Aron Beauregard Horror)
  • Black Tongue And Other Anomalies by Richard Beauchamp (D&T Publishing)
  • Sinister Mix by Brian Bowyer (Independently Published)
  • Shattered Skies by Chris Miller (Death’s Head Press)
  • Twisted Tainted Tales by Janine Pipe (Pipe Screams Press)
  • May Cause Ocular Bleeding by Nikolas P. Robinson (Independently Published)


  • Body Shocks edited by Ellen Datlow (Tachyon Publications)
  • Between A Spider’s Eyes edited by River Dixon (Potter’s Grove Press)
  • Bludgeon Tools edited by K. Trap Jones (The Evil Cookie Publishing)
  • Gorefest edited by K. Trap Jones (The Evil Cookie Publishing)
  • Baker’s Dozen edited by Candace Nola (Uncomfortably Dark)
  • Battered, Broken Bodies edited by Matt Shaw (Independently Published)


  • Clive Barker


  • Richard Laymon
  • Jack Ketchum
  • J. F. Gonzalez
  • Charlee Jacob
  • John Pelan
  • Gak
  • David G. Barnett

*The previous J. F. Gonzalez Award recipients are: David J. Schow, David G. Barnett, Edward Lee, and John Skipp

**In 2017, authors Wrath James White and Brian Keene founded the Splatterpunk Awards to honor superior achievement in the literary subgenres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror fiction for novel, novella, short story, collection, and anthology categories. In addition, they also created the J. F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award, to honor individuals who, like Gonzalez, have made a significant impact on the Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror field.

2019 Splatterpunk Awards Nominees

Wrath James White and Brian Keene, founders of the Splatterpunk Awards, which recognize superior achievement in the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror, announced the nominees for the second annual awards on February 4.


  • A Gathering of Evil by Gil Valle (Comet Press)
  • Camp Slasher by Dan Padavona (Independently Published)
  • Full Brutal by Kristopher Triana (Grindhouse Press)
  • Last Day by Bryan Smith (Independently Published)
  • Rabid Heart by Jeremy Wagner (Riverdale Avenue Books)
  • Ring of Fire by David Agranoff (Deadite Press)


  • 1000 Severed Dicks by Ryan Harding and Matt Shaw (Independently Published)
  • Cockblock by CV Hunt (Grindhouse Press)
  • Dead Stripper Storage by Bryan Smith (Grindhouse Press)
  • Kill For Satan by Bryan Smith (Grindhouse Press)
  • The Mongrel by Sean O’Connor (Matador)
  • The Writhing Skies by Betty Rocksteady (Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing)


  • “Diabolicus Interruptus” by Christine Morgan (Forbidden Futures #1)
  • “Fistulas” by Mame Bougouma Diene (Dark Moons Rising on a Starless Night)
  • “Rebound” by Brendan Vidito (Nightmares In Ecstasy)
  • “The Seacreator” by Ryan Harding (Splatterpunk Forever)
  • “Seersucker Motherfucker” by Jay Wilburn (Beautiful Darkness)
  • “Virtue of Stagnant Waters” by Monica J. O’Rourke (Splatterpunk Forever)


  • Dark Moons Rising on a Starless Night by Mame Bougouma Diene (Clash Books)
  • DJStories by David J. Schow (Subterranean Press)
  • Nightmares In Ecstasy by Brendan Vidito (Clash Books)
  • The Very Ineffective Haunted House by Jeff Burk (Clash Books)
  • Walking Alone: Short Stories by Bentley Little (Cemetery Dance Publications)


  • The Black Room Manuscripts Volume 4 by J. R. Park and Tracy Fahey (Sinister Horror Company)
  • Monsters of Any Kind by Alessandro Manzetti and Daniele Bonfanti (Independent Legions Publishing)
  • Splatterpunk Forever by Jack Bantry and Kit Power (Splatterpunk zine)
  • Welcome to the Show by Doug Murano and Matt Hayward (Crystal Lake Publishing)
  • Year’s Best Hardcore Horror Volume 3 by Randy Chandler and Cheryl Mullenax (Red Room Press)

In addition to these nominees, publisher and author David G. Barnett will receive the J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the field.

The nominees were selected by readers, fans, professionals and the jurors. The final ballot will be voted on by this year’s jury: Regina Garza-Mitchell, Gabino Iglesias, Tod Clark, Gerard Houarner, Jason Cavallaro, and Garrett Cook.

The awards will be presented during a ceremony at the 2019 Killercon Convention, taking place August 16-18 in Austin, Texas.  

[Via Locus Online.]