Strand Critics, NoirCon, and Radio-Bremen Krimipreis Awards


The winners of the 2022 Strand Magazine Critics Awards were announced September 21.

The Critics Awards were judged by a select group of book critics from NPR, The Boston Globe, the Associated Press, CNN and The Wall Street Journal.

Seeing Razorblade Tears by S.A. Cosby win another award, Cora Buhlert said, “I haven’t seen such a sweep since Ancillary Justice.”


  • Razorblade Tears by S. A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)

Other Finalists

  • The Dark Hours by Michael Connelly (Little, Brown and Co.)
  • The Low Desert by Tod Goldberg (Counterpoint)
  • These Toxic Things by Rachel Howzell Hall (Thomas and Mercer)
  • Dream Girl by Laura Lippman (William Morrow)
  • 1979 by Val McDermid (Atlantic Monthly)


  • Bullet Train by Kōtarō Isaka, Translated by Sam Malissa (Harry Abrams)

Other Finalists

  • Who Is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews (Little, Brown and Co.)
  • The Other Black Girl by Zakiya Dalila Harris (Atria Books)
  • Lightseekers by Femi Kayode (Mulholland Books)
  • Velvet Was the Night by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey)
  • All Her Little Secrets by Wanda M. Morris (William Morrow)


  • Nelson DeMille
  • Sandra Brown


  • Morgan Entrekin


The NoirCon Awards, ordinary presented in alternate years, were last given in 2016 because the 2018 convention was cancelled, and there was no 2020 NoirCon, either, due to the COVID-19 pandemic. This year’s event is catching up on the missed 2018 awards, and has already announced the 2022 winners as well.

2018 Awards

David Goodis Award: Walter Mosley

Anne Friedberg Award for Contributions to Noir and its Preservation: Dana Polan

Kogan Award For Excellence: Geoffrey O’Brien and Max Rudin

2022 Awards

David Goodis Award: Megan Abbott

Anne Friedberg Award for Contributions to Noir and its Preservation: Sarah Weinman

Kogan Award For Excellence: Marcia Muller and Bill Pronzini


The winner of the 2022 Radio-Bremen Krimipreis, one of the best known crime fiction awards in Germany, was announced in July.

  • Åsa Larsson

The Swedish crime fiction writer is best known for her Rebecka Martinsson series, which has also been filmed.

[Thanks to Cora Buhlert for the stories.]

Crime Fiction Award News


The 2021 Radio Bremen Krimipreis, a German crime fiction award, has been awarded to Anne Holt.

The article is in German, so here is a summary:

The winner of the 2021 Radio Bremen Krimipreis is Norwegian crime writer Anne Holt. Anne Holt is one of the most successful Scandinavian crime writers with more than seven million books sold worldwide. In her non-writing career, she has been a journalist, police superintendent and even Norwegian secretary of justice. She has been writing full time for 25 years now.

The jury was impressed by how Ms. Holt incorporates current social issues such as nationalism, rightwing terrorism, climate change or corruption and doping in professional sports into her crime novels. Furthermore, Anne Holt’s novels featured diverse characters before “diversity” was a buzzword. In the 1990s, she created Hanne Willhelmsen, a lesbian police officer who is shot in a later book in the series and becomes a wheelchair user. Her latest novel features a new character, Selma Falck, a lawyer with a gambling addiction.

Since 2001, Radio Bremen has been awarding the Radio Bremen Crime Prize to outstanding crime writers. The prize is endowed with 2,500 Euros and is considered one of the most prestigious crime fiction prizes in Germany. The award honors German-speaking and international authors. The jury is composed annually of Bremen crime fiction professionals and, if necessary, supplemented by guest jurors.


Sisters in Crime Australia has announced the names of the writers on the 28th Scarlet Stiletto Awards Shortlist, but not which the various awards each is a finalist for, so there’s not much more to offer here than the link.


The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced a new flash fiction prize, the Louie Award.

Sponsored by ACT president of the Australian Medical Association Antonio Di Dio, the annual award celebrates his late father Luigi who was an avid crime fiction reader.

The award is open to Australian crime writers and will seek short story submissions of up to 500 words. The winner will receive $750.

Entries for the inaugural award is expected to open this month. For more information, see the ACWA website.

[Thanks to Cora Buhlert for these stories.]