2018 Tin Duck Award Winners

The Western Australian Science Fiction Achievement Awards, known as the Tin Ducks, were presented this past weekend at Swancon 2018.

All the nominees are shown, with the winners in BOLD.

Best Professional Long Written Work

  • WINNER: Terra Nullius – Claire G Coleman
  • The Time of the Stripes – Amanda Bridgeman
  • Warlock in Training – TJ Nichols

Best Professional Short Written Work

  • WINNER: ‘This Silent Sea’ Stephanie Gunn – (Review of Australian Fiction)
  • ‘Future Perfect’ Matthew Chrulew – (Ecopunk!)
  • ‘The Missing Years’ Lyn Battersby – (Andromeda Spaceways)
  • ‘Poison Marked’ TJ Nichols

Best Professional Production

  • ‘Infinity Wars’ Jonathan Strahan
  • ‘Ecopunk!’ Liz Grzyb & Cat Sparks
  • WINNER: ‘Cleverman Vol. 1’ Ryan Griffen, Wolfgang Bylsma, and Emily Smith (Comic)

Best Fan Work

  • WINNER: ‘Goldfish Apocalypse’ Stephanie Bateman-Graham (Plasma Agate)
  • ‘Forever Dreaming’ Gemma Macniven
  • ‘OctoCloche’- Sophia Papaelis (Hat)
  • ‘Lack of Faith’ Jennifer Gladwell
  • ‘Fairytale’ Cathy Cupitt
  • ‘Trump Show’ Lyra Telfer
  • ‘Zaftig Mermaid’ Gina Goddard
  • ‘Galactic Suburbia’ Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts

2015 WASFF Tin Duck Award Winners

The voters’ choices for the Tin Duck Awards given by the Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation for WA writers and artists were announced at Swancon 40 in Perth on April 5.

Best Professional Production or Artwork

  • Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy stories, edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Julia Rios (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best WA Professional Long Written Work

  • The Lascar’s Dagger by Glenda Larke (Orbit)

Best WA Professional Short Written Work

  • “Siri and the Chaos Maker” by Carol Ryles, in Kisses by Clockwork (Ticonderoga Publications)

Best Fan Production or Written Work

  • The 2014 Snapshot of Australian Speculative Fiction interview series, conducted by Kathryn Linge, Stephanie Gunn, Nick Evans et al

Best WA Fan Artwork

  • 2014 Tin Ducks, John Parker