2016 Campbell Award Shortlist

Campbell-trophy-sThe finalists for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel of the year have been announced.

The Campbell Award is a juried award. The current jurors are Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and Lisa Yaszek. James Gunn has served the jury since its earliest days.

To make it onto the list as a finalist, a book must receive at least one vote from the jury (1st, 2nd, or 3rd place – or, in some cases, Honorable Mention).

Paolo Bacigalupi The Water Knife Orbit / Knopf
Dave Hutchinson Europe at Midnight Rebellion
Eleanor Lerman Radiomen The Permanent Press
Ian McDonald Luna: New Moon Gollancz / Tor Books
James Morrow Galapagos Regained St. Martin’s Press
Linda Nagata Going Dark Mythic Island Press / Saga Press
Nnedi Okorafor The Book of Phoenix DAW
Kit Reed Where Tor Books
Kim Stanley Robinson Aurora Orbit
Adam Roberts The Thing Itself Gollancz
Neal Stephenson Seveneves William Morrow / Harper Collins

This year’s Award will be presented on Thursday evening (August 18) during the 2016 WorldCon (MidAmeriCon II) in Kansas City.

2015 Campbell Award Winner

Claire North

Claire North

Claire North’s The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August is the winner of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the best science fiction novel of 2014.

The award was presented at the Campbell Conference in Lawrence, KS on June 12.

2015 Campbell Award Shortlist

The finalists for the 2015 John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel of the year 2014 have been announced.

The award will be presented at the Campbell Conference, to be held in Lawrence, KS from June 11-14.

Nina Allan The Race Newcon Press
James L. Cambias A Darkling Sea Tor
William Gibson The Peripheral G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Daryl Gregory Afterparty Tor
Dave Hutchinson Europe In Autumn Solaris
Simon Ings Wolves Gollancz
Cixin Liu (Ken Liu, translator) The Three-Body Problem Tor (1st English edition)
Emily St. John Mandel Station Eleven Knopf
Will McIntosh Defenders Orbit
Claire North The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August Redhook
Laline Paull The Bees Ecco
Adam Roberts Bête Gollancz
John Scalzi Lock In: A Novel of the Near Future Tor
Andy Weir The Martian Broadway Books
Jeff VanderMeer Area X (The Southern Reach Trilogy: Annihilation; Authority; Acceptance) FSG Originals
Peter Watts Echopraxia Tor

Update 05/11/2015: Corrected to show all three Jeff VanderMeer novels as finalists collectively.

2014 Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners

The winners of the Campbell Award for the Best SF Novel and the Sturgeon Award for Best Short Story have been announced. The awards will be presented June 13 at the Campbell Conference in Lawrence, Kansas.

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

  • Strange Bodies, by Marcel Theroux

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “In Joy, Knowing the Abyss,” by Sarah Pinsker

[Via Locus Online and SF SIte News.]

2014 Campbell Memorial Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2014 John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best SF novel of 2013 have been announced.

The award will be presented on June 13 during the Campbell Conference at the University of Kansas in Lawrence.

Max Barry Lexicon Penguin
Stephen Baxter Proxima Gollancz
Dave Eggers The Circle Knopf
Karen Joy Fowler We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves Marian Wood / Putnam
Nicola Griffith Hild Farrar, Straus, and Giroux
Wolfgang Jeschke The Cusanus Game Tor (1st English edition)
Ann Leckie Ancillary Justice Orbit
Phillip Mann The Disestablishment of Paradise Gollancz
Paul McAuley Evening’s Empires Gollancz
Linda Nagata The Red: First Light Mythic Island Press
Christopher Priest The Adjacent Gollancz
Alastair Reynolds On the Steel Breeze Gollancz
Kim Stanley Robinson Shaman Orbit
Charles Stross Neptune’s Brood Ace
Marcel Theroux Strange Bodies Faber & Faber / Farrar, Straus, and Giroux

The selections were made by the Award jury of Gregory Benford, Paul Di Filippo, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and T.A. Shippey.

The Campbell Award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine, now Analog.

Awards Given at Campbell Conference

Winners of three awards were announced at the 2013 Campbell Conference on June 14.

Molly Gloss won the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for her short story “The Grinnell Method.”

Adam Roberts won the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for his novel Jack Glass.

Kevin J. Anderson and Steven Savile’s novella “Tau Ceti” won the first ever Lifeboat to the Stars Award.

[Via Ruth Lichtwardt.]

Goonan Wins Campbell Award

Niall Harrison’s Torque Control reports:

Strange day, when the John W Campbell Memorial Award is the award I feel positive about. The winner is: In War Times by Kathleen Ann Goonan.

I was quite interested to hear that the Goonan novel won. At Westercon, Kathryn Daugherty, Chris Garcia and I were on a panel discussing the entire Hugo ballot. When we had all said our piece about the Best Novel category, Kathryn pulled out a copy of In War Times and touted it as the book that should be winning the Hugo.

[Via SF Awards Watch.]