2023 Dwarf Stars Winners

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association‘s Dwarf Stars 2023 award winners, as voted by SFPA members, were revealed today by David C. Kopaska-Merkel and Miguel O. Mitchell, editors of the 2023 Dwarf Stars Anthology.

The award recognizes the best speculative poem of 1–10 lines (or up to 100 words for prose forms) published in the previous year. It was created to honor excellent scifaiku, tanka, cinquains, and other types of short poems that examine speculative themes which tend to be overshadowed in SFPA’s Rhysling Award competition.



  • “Believe the Graves” by Rasha Abdulhadi
  • “In Perpetuity” by Bruce Boston


  • “Excerpt from a Proposal for the New City” by Alyssa Lo



  • “As Slow as Starlight” by Kim Whysall-Hammond
  • “Surviving” by Sumiko Saulson
  • “Trichotillomania” by Warsan Shire


  • [diameter pi the lake solves for moon] by Kat Lehman
  • “A Vision of the Future” by J. Y. T. Kennedy