2017 Nominations Needed for Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics

The judges for the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics are asking for your help in assembling a longlist of worthy books from 2017. They’re taking nominations until March 1.

Presented at the Ann Arbor Comics Art Festival, the award runs in tandem with the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity and focuses on comics aimed at young readers.

The judges are looking for comics that are both original and timeless (even when addressing the issues of the day), and that represent a wide range of experiences, whether in this world or a totally imagined one. We’re well aware that the more diverse the subject matter and voices of the nominees, the greater the opportunity to select books that are truly the best of the best for the award shortlist and the ultimate winner.
If you read and loved a 2017 comic – or two, or five – and want to nominate it, please email us at mcduffiekidsaward@gmail.com. The book you nominate can be an original publication or a collection of a series. And books can be published anywhere in the world, but should be available in English.

Kids Read Comics, a volunteer-run nonprofit that promotes comics reading and comics making, sponsors the award, which honors Dwayne McDuffie, the pioneering comics and animation writer and Humanitas Prize winner who cofounded Milestone Media and created the teen superhero Static among others. The award is given out each June at the Ann Arbor Comic Arts Festival, which is run jointly by Kids Read Comics and the Ann Arbor (Michigan) District Library.

Kids’ Comics Award Winners

Regina Telgemeier’s Ghosts was announced as the winner of the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics at the Ann Arbor Comics Art Festival on June 18.  The award runs in tandem with the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity and focuses on comics aimed at young readers. Here is the complete shortlist:

  • Bad Machinery Volume 6: The Case of the Unwelcome Visitor, by John Allison
  • Blip! by Barnaby Richards
  • The Cloud, by K.I. Zachopoulos and Vincenzo Bolzano
  • The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo, by Drew Weing
  • Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier
  • Goldie Vance, by Hope Larson, Britney Williams and Sarah Stern
  • Hilda and the Stone Forest, by Luke Pearson
  • Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Vol. 1: BFF, by Amy Reeder and Brandon Montclair
  • Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! Vol. 1: Hooked On A Feline, by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams and Natasha Allegri
  • Princess Princess Ever After, by Katie O’Neill.

The Ann Arbor Comics Art Festival (A2CAF) also sponsored a set of awards that kids attending the con were able to vote for via paper ballot, while the wider world was invited to vote via online form. The nominees are listed below with the winner in BOLD.


  • The King of Kazoo, by Norman Feuti
  • Tree Mail, by Mike Raicht and Brian Smith
  • Red’s Planet, by Eddie Pittman
  • The Great Pet Escape, by Victoria Jamieson
  • Night Air, by Ben Sears


  • Dog Man, by Dav Pilkey
  • Comics Squad: Lunch! by various
  • Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy, by Doug Savage
  • Caveboy Dave, by Aaron Reynolds
  • Lucy and Andy Neanderthal, by Jeffrey Brown


  • Jennifer Holm
  • Raina Telgemeier
  • Ben Hatke
  • Jarrett Krosoczka
  • Hope Larson


  • Bera the One-Headed Troll
  • Raven the Pirate Princess (tie)
  • Margo Maloo
  • Mighty Jack (tie)
  • Peony from Space Battle Lunchtime


  • Caveboy Dave by Aaron Reynolds
  • Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea! by Ben Clanton
  • Hippopotamister, by John Patrick Green
  • Monty the Dinosaur, by Bob Frantz and Jean Franco
  • Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier


  • Space Battle Lunchtime, by Natalie Reiss
  • Comics Squad: Lunch! by Various
  • Lunch Witch: Knee-deep in Niceness, by Deb Lucke